Log in Join now
Maharaja - Avery Brewing

Maharaja

Overall: 9.2/10 by 4 dudes

Dudes: 9.3/10

Trend: 9.2/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 10.20%

Season: Speciality

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review or Add a Short Beer Review

352 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.6/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Deep Gold
  • A: Clear gold amber. Delicate white foam that quickly disaptes.

    S: Big piney malt. In my mind's eye I see sticky hop oils floating in the brew vat. The fruity nose finishes with pineapple and maybe light grapefruit. Scent says buckle your seatbelt.

    T: Like biting into a hybrid new fruit called grapefruitypineappleyorange. I admit there's pine notes but not in a obtrusive way. The big malt sweetness totally held in check by a very cool hop profile. A perfect mouthfeel for the brew, semi-thick without being over the top.

    O: A really good Imperial IPA. I love the palate of fruit flavors. And like all great beers, the balance is perfect. After a big gulp, the finish of fruit, pine, malt, and alcohol fire is a nice of blend as any beer I've had. It's fresh (brew dated in March 2011) but seemed to be small supply in Chicago, find this quickly.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 31, 2011 at 22:29:38
  • Tasted: March 31, 2011 by rich
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.2 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: 15
  • Aroma. Super pine. Very inviting. Slight sweet in the background likely from the malt. Smells like awesome.

    Clear deep darkish amber. Thin head, light cling to edges.

    Flavor: Bam! Super hops, pine, fruit, bitter, bang. Wow. Just an explosion of complicated and complimentary hops.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 31, 2011 at 22:19:41
  • Tasted: March 31, 2011 by Retrofit
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Pale Amber
  • Cool label....the guy on the bottle is all business.

    Pours a pale amber with a nice one finger head. Spotty lacing with the head dissolving into a swirl of foam floating on top.

    Aroma is killer! It is a hop bomb. Love it. Lot of pine hops

    Taste is awesome. Nice balance of pine hops and a citrus and fruity hop.

    Great Beer! Thanks Rich!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 31, 2011 at 22:18:48
  • Tasted: March 31, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,116 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Amber
  • Pours clear with four inches of thick, fluffy, white foam. A very appealing beer to the eye.

    The aroma is all hops, baby. Piney hops is the winner with some citrus undertones. Sweetness from the malt are also evident.

    The taste starts off with some sweet malt, followed by a middle of some floral and then finishes big with the piney hops. A big hop bomb that does a really great job balancing the flavors so the bitterness doesn't overwhelm.

    Medium carbonation and body. Nicely balanced for such a big hop bomb. I will be picking up at least one more on my weekly visit to the beer store this Wednesday.

    This is a hop lovers wet dream. I am very close to giving this one a 10. I had to control myself not to drink it too fast. Yummy over and over again on the taste buds. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Sunday, August 02, 2009 at 17:31:54
  • Tasted: August 02, 2009 by scot
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle