Log in Join now
Whaleback White - Leelanau Brewing Company

Whaleback White

Overall: 9.0/10 by 4 dudes

Dudes: 8.9/10

Trend: 9.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Witbeir

ABV: 5.20%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review or Add a Short Beer Review

  • 8.8/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 9 | L: 9 | D: 9 | O: 8.8
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 22, 2012 at 22:08:17
  • Tasted: March 22, 2012 by rich
  • $17.99 for 750ml bottle
  • Color: Pale Straw
  • Very lemony tart and super refreshing. Well crafted, would have again.
  • 9.3/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 10 | L: 8 | D: 9 | O: 9.3
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 22, 2012 at 21:56:32
  • Tasted: March 22, 2012 by tikibeer
  • $18.99 for 750ml bottle
  • Color: straw
  • Pours a cloudy bright yellow straw color with very little head. A thin ring of white foam wraps around the edges of the glass.

    The aroma is tart sour citrus with a bit of floral and yeast.

    The taste is even more bold and rich that the aroma. Big blast of tart lemon citrus. Some earthy farmhouse type flavors with yeast and a touch of oak in the finish. The tart citrus flavor is the big player here and is very refreshing and enjoyable.

    Light body with a high level of carbonation. Champagne like mouth feel that fits the style perfectly. A bit of dryness on the finish.

    Overall, an amazing beer. Perfect balance and in both the aroma and flavor. An amazing tart flavor that is drinkable and enjoyable. This is a must try beer if you like the sour tart style beers. Try one.
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 9 | L: 7 | D: 9 | O: 9.0
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 22, 2012 at 21:53:14
  • Tasted: March 22, 2012 by scot
  • $18.99 for 750ml bottle
  • Color: Pale Straw
  • Pours extremely cloudy with minimal white head that quickly becomes nothing more than a ring.

    Aroma is tart most of all. Hay and lemon add accent. Brett add a nice floral level of complexity.

    Taste is very interesting. There is a delicate tartness that rides alongside light malts. They don't take turns but fight the taste buds for favor. Tartness is up front becoming a bit more acidic towards the finish.

    Light, which it needs to be for the delicate complexities to shine. Fine carbonation adds just the perfect touch.

    Probably one of my favorite witbiers that I have had the pleasure of tasting. This would be a perfect beer for the summer. Enjoy!
  • 8.8/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 7 | D: 9 | O: 8.8
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 22, 2012 at 21:48:00
  • Tasted: March 22, 2012 by Retrofit
  • $19.00 for 750ml bottle
  • Color: 3
  • Look: Straw in color, extremely hazy. I thought a wit would be... less hazy.

    Aroma: Tart. You just know this beer is going to have a snap to it.

    Taste: Tart, sweet. I have to say.... the tart is up there, but it quickly fades and that doesn't leave a burn that can turn people off. Delicate was tossed out as a word. I agree. Light, crisp, delicate, but complex. Oak aged doesn't contribute an overt oak flavor, but I would say that oak "smooth" element brings it together. I would call it more lemon than orange, and I don't get the coriander, but I dig this beer.