Log in Join now
Ursa Minor - Rising Tide Brewing Company

Ursa Minor

Overall: 8.4/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 8.3/10

Trend: 8.4/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Stout

ABV: 6.70%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

357 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.3/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • A: Rich appearance, almost black brown. Catch a flash of ruby red in the right light. Light brown foam of average retention.

    S: Licorice, maybe a little prune. The roasted malt shows up as toast.

    T: Chocolate, licorice, and molasses in moderation. The wheat make it much less thick than the average stout. And, the brewers use of a german yeast adds some additional flavor, don't know if it's banana and clove or not. The carbonation is moderate.

    O: Like this brew, it's definately original, being a wheat stout. The flavors are hard to peg, but pronounced and balanced. Probably the best characteristic is the drinkability.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, October 04, 2012 at 21:30:07
  • Tasted: October 04, 2012 by rich
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.4/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Black
  • Pours opaque with an inch of mocha foam that dissipates without a trace in no time.

    Aroma is difficult for me. Chocolate, wheat, and light esters.

    Taste is more of the same. Light wheat sweetness at first that is left behind esters that quickly transition to coffee and bitter chocolate that lingers at times.

    Medium to light-medium body with spritzed up carbonation. Dries the palate some.

    This is a really nice beer. Subtly complex and very easy to drink. This will definitely be on the radar again. Enjoy!

    Tasted a second time on 2012-10-04. Update: no esters this time around in the aroma but roast and licorice come through nicely. Not as found of the flavor this time around. Licorice is maybe too much.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 08, 2012 at 21:50:48
  • Tasted: March 08, 2012 by scot
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 8.6/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Black
  • Pours black with a thin tan head that quickly melts into a swirl of foam floating on top and clingy to the sides of the glass. Some watery lacing.

    The aroma is sweet complex and very unique. My first thought when I smell this beer is bubblegum....I know that sounds strange, but that is what it reminds me of. A sweet vanilla, chocolate with a bit of sweet orange. Not sure what else.....but I like it.

    The taste is a little more mellow than the aroma. The taste resembles the aroma, but not as bold. A very difficult beer to describe. A milky chocolate maybe with a light vanilla and a sweet fruit flavor that I can't pin point.

    Medium body with medium carbonation. A milky smooth mouth feel, while also having a bit of a watery feel to it. Slightly dry on the finish with a sticky sweetness on the lips.

    A very impressive beer. I like it a lot and I can't say that I have ever had anything like it. A very unique combination of aromas and flavors making if intriguing and interesting. The unique characters of this beer make it hard to describe and makes me keep coming back for a sip. A very cool beer that is worth a try!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 08, 2012 at 21:45:08
  • Tasted: March 08, 2012 by tikibeer
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • Dark as squid ink and moody as the sea, Ursa Minor is our take on a winter wheat beer. Starting with a German wheat-beer yeast and a base of malted wheat, we added a blend of dark crystal and roasted malts to create a wheat stout. Redolent of dark fruit, weizen yeast esters, and roasted barley, Ursa Minor is perfect for an icy winter’s eve.
Beer Swapping