Log in Join now
MO (Madeline & Oliver) Pale Ale - Maine Beer Company

MO (Madeline & Oliver) Pale Ale

Overall: 9.3/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 9.3/10

Trend: 9.3/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Pale Ale

ABV: 6.00%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.3/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 10 | O: 10
  • Color: Gold
  • A: Pure gold with a very slight haze. Thick meringue like foam, soft and delicate like a french pastry, almost pure white color.

    S: Grassy, fruity, and light piney are my initial reaction. The fruit is citrus, maybe tangerine. A very faint toastiness in the background. Very well mannered and balanced. It's drawing me in, got to taste it now.

    T: Wow, really nice. First comes the tangerine citrus with light floral notes. Almost no sweetness, except maybe in a way certain breads are slightly sweet. A sharp and crisp beer. It's a mix of light to medium mouthfeel, and no issues with the carbonation.

    O: Super pysch-ed this beer has come to Chicago. Big Scot has a great trading partner who lives in Maine, so I've had a few Maine Bee Co brews and they have all been SOLID. I love clear date stamping on the bottle and the additional recommendation of number of days to best enough the beer by. Purchased on 11/2, bot said drink within 32-days of 10/22. Everything is correct with this pale ale. Love the flavors of citrus and pine, with the additional notes of spice and/or herbal and/or floral. The 6% abv is perfect and in the right portion with a 17-oz bottle. And it's a clean and refreshing beer to drink. I know this statement might be challenging, but I had a fresh Pliny the Elder a week ago, and I think the brews from Maine BC are on par with the WC powerhouse.
  • Reviewed: Saturday, November 16, 2013 at 21:09:07
  • Tasted: November 16, 2013 by rich
  • $6.99 for 500 ml bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.3/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 9 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Pale Gold
  • Pours clear with a half glass of white foam. The foam thickens as it lazily recedes. Very thick and sticky foam webs the glass.

    Aroma is hope centric with a light, sweet malt backbone. Citrus, fruit, and floral hop notes are dominant.

    Taste doesn't waver much from the aroma. Citra and Amarillo hops entice, emitting tropical fruit, mango, and citrus. Once again the malts falter before the power of the hops. Bitterness is in the finish, giving thoughts of an IPA.

    Light body with a medium carbonation. There is bit of creaminess.

    This is similar to Spring Peeper but definitely puts a heaping wallop of hops on top. Maine continues to impress with each and every offering. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Monday, March 12, 2012 at 21:26:00
  • Tasted: March 12, 2012 by scot
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. bottle