Log in Join now
120 Minute IPA - Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales

120 Minute IPA

Overall: 7.7/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 7.7/10

Trend: 7.7/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 15.00%

IBU: 120

Season: April

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

357 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 7.8/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Deep Gold
  • A: Really clear and deep gold that skews close to amber. Normal off-white head of low-medium retention.

    S:I can tell from the first whiff this brew is intense. First impression is spice, caramel malt, and alcohol. Hops come through as big sweet tree fruits. Overall smells good, but semi intimidating.

    T: Wow, caramel sweet with fruit, maybe apricot, and then there's the heat. Big hops but held in check by all of the malts. Hop load dries it out so it's not cloying, but this is a thick brew. Decent carbonation which was a bit of surprise.

    O: Way more balanced than was my thought going in. Don't get me wrong, downing a sixer would kill you. But I liked it flavors. Think about the task of blending huge malt bill, 120 ibus, and 15%+ abv, and not hav e it suck. Do you believe it's dry-hopped everyday for a month as the label claims. And, it's a style buster so there's no point of talking about that. I'd definatly recommend buying a bottle, but only one at a time.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 26, 2012 at 22:38:35
  • Tasted: July 26, 2012 by rich
  • $8.99 for 12 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 7.5/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • Color: Deep Gold
  • Pours very clear with slight white foam with minimal staying power. Lacing is quick to run back but there are traces left behind between sip.

    Aroma brings the alcohol accompanied by caramel and toffee, but not much sweetness, that is tethered by apricot. The alcohol singes the nostrils as it doesn't apologize for bringing it strong.

    Taste brings on the barely: caramel and toffee notes bump up the sweetness level that was missing in the aroma. Heat from the alcohol tingles on the lips and slightly burns until it reaches the toes (burns the nose on each sip as it is buried in the snifter). The end and finish bring on some hops that I can best describe as apricot.

    The is big body, almost pushing the syrup envelope. Carbonation is medium with the hops drying the palate.

    This is a warming beer. More closely related to a DIPA than a barley wine. Nicely done overall for such a big beer. The alcohol not only let's you know it is there in the taste but physical lowers the inhibitions. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 26, 2012 at 22:31:00
  • Tasted: July 26, 2012 by scot
  • $8.99 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • Too extreme to be called beer? 120 Minute IPA is brewed to a colossal 45-degree plato, boiled for a full two hours while being continuously hopped with high-alpha American hops, then dry-hopped daily in the fermenter for a month and aged for another month on whole-leaf hops!

    Clocking in at 15-20% ABV and 120 IBUs, 120 Minute is by far the biggest IPA ever brewed! It's easy to see why we call this beer THE HOLY GRAIL for hopheads!

    We brew 120 Minute IPA a few times a year, but it goes fast. If you find some grab a few bottles -- some to enjoy and some to age.
Cost Breakdown
  • $8.99, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping