Log in Join now
Fruet - The Bruery

Fruet

Overall: 9.8/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 9.7/10

Trend: 9.8/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Old Ale

ABV: 15.50%

Season: One Time

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.4/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Deep Amber/Brown
  • Pours almost opaque, light seeps through the edges. An inch of tan foam doesn't last long, quickly becoming only a ring. Sporadic, spotty lacing.

    Aroma of dark fruits and sweet, vanilla and molasses. Bourbon continues the onslaught that is just pleasure for the nose.

    Taste is sweet throughout along with the accompanying dark fruit(s). The middle brings burnt molasses with alcohol beginning. Vanilla and bourbon join quickly late middle and carry through to the finish. A residual vanilla sweetness finishes too.

    Big body on top of solid amount of carbonation. The sweetness and vanilla create a slight oiliness.

    Fresh this is fantastic but a bit hot. Five, ten or more years will smooth this out, drop some sweetness, making this an all world beer. Glad to have another for the cellar with the group splitting up costs. This is a beer you need to share with friends. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 09, 2012 at 22:28:29
  • Tasted: August 09, 2012 by scot
  • $30.99 for 750 ml bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 9.9/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • Vintage 2012

    Pours a deep brown color with a half inch creamy yellow head. The head settles out quickly leaving a ring of yellow foam wrapped around the edges of the glass.

    The aroma is intoxicating. Rich and creamy with dark fruits, cherry and rasin, vanilla, and bourbon and oak with hints of molasses and brown sugar. Lots of heat from the alcohol coming off this beer.

    The taste is just as smooth and rich and creamy as the aroma. Velvet smoothness with an amazing level of complex flavors. Sweet vanilla with bourbon and coca. Lots of dark fruits, cherries, and raisins. Again lots of heat from the high ABV coming off this beer, but fits perfectly with the flavors.

    Medium to heavy body with a light carbonation. Creamy and smooth with a soft velvet character on the palate.

    Overall, an absolutely amazing beer. We are drinking this one fresh and saving another for a few years from now. Amazing balance in flavors that work perfectly with the alcohol. Reminds me of a rich port wine with the sweet richness. Put this one on your must try list. Amazing!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 09, 2012 at 22:25:57
  • Tasted: August 09, 2012 by tikibeer
  • $30.99 for 750 ml bottle
355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.9/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • Color: Ruby Brown
  • A) Ruby Brown and clear. Light brown foam, normal buubles, and quickly disappears. No lacing on the side of the glass, more like an oily sheen.

    S) Raisins and sweet sherry are the first flavors I detected. The sugary notes could be lots of things: caramel or toffee, brown sugar or molasses...name it and it's probably here. Definitely get the bourbon barrels with big vanilla and booze. Super seductive.

    T) It's sweet, but more of a fruit sourced sugar. There's a quick off-set to the sweetness from, I don't know maybe semi-sweet cocoa. No doubt there's alcohol heat, but it's mitigated by a huge cacophony of flavors. It's thick, but that's to be expected.

    O) In the league of big, big brews, this is Fruet holds it's own. These beers are by design complex, but this brew takes the layers of flavors to the max. Bottle says it could be aged for a decade or more, I would love to have a case to try through the years. One word in sum-up, outstanding.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 09, 2012 at 22:25:44
  • Tasted: August 09, 2012 by rich
  • $30.99 for 750 ml bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • Fruet is our fourth anniversary ale. It is the same recipe as Papier and our other anniversary ales, and again was created using the Solera method. Each year we will continue to blend old barrels of anniversary ale with a new batch of the same beer, adding an additional layer of complexity that will grow over time as we continue to age and blend with each anniversary, creating an older average age to the ale. This year, for the first time, we are ONLY offering the 100% bourbon barrel aged version of our anniversary ale. It has taken us four years to work up our capacity enough to do this and we are extremely happy about this offering.
Cost Breakdown
  • $30.99, 3 serving(s), 750 ml bottles
Beer Swapping