Log in Join now
Super IPA - New Belgium Brewing Company

Super IPA

Overall: 9.4/10 by 4 dudes

Dudes: 9.4/10

Trend: 9.4/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 9.00%

IBU: 99

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.7/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 10 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Deep Gold
  • A: Deep, bright gold with a very slight haze. Topped with a very soft white head, thick at first, but fades.

    S: Thick resins, grassy, and then explosion of tropical fruits (Mango, orange, grapefruit, and slight peach).

    T: Huge fruit burst for me. Same fruits I mentioned in the aroma, though I would say stone tree fruits seem more pronounced. Nice malt, feels like it gonna be thick , but drops off without much sweetness. There's a great lingering after taste that mostly citrus tartness. Almost no bitterness, which is amazing for a 99ibu brew. Same with the alcohol, 9%abv is hidden.

    O: I am a HUGE fan of Alpine, and this colob with New Belgium has their fingerprints all over it. Depth of fruit flavor, huge personality, perfect balance, and total originality. All of this for $7 a bomber. I wish I could always have a bottle of beer in my possession.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 30, 2012 at 22:10:29
  • Tasted: August 30, 2012 by rich
  • $6.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,139 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.1/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 10 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Gold
  • Pours clear with minimal, white foam. Retention is average at best while lacing is sparse at best. Usually get more from an IPA.

    Aroma is peppered by hops: citrus, resinous, grassy, and herbal. Resinous scents transcend the others, followed closely by the grass. Malts are subdued.

    Taste is delicately sweet to start. The middle brings on some bread notes and the beginning of the onslaught of hops. Citrus - mango, apricot, and similar. Slight herbal almost pepper. Resin is there again as is the grass. Bitterness is there but citrus centered.

    Light body with a solid contribution to the body from the carbonation. Dries the palate thoroughly.

    One of the few collaboration beers I like. Nice smooth bitterness accompanied by plenty of hop flavor and aroma. On the critical side the resinous hops can be a bit much. Alcohol is well hidden, warming deep down. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 30, 2012 at 22:00:39
  • Tasted: August 30, 2012 by scot
  • $6.99 for 22 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 9.6/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Golden
  • Pours a clear golden color with a thin white frothy head. The head settles quickly into a thin ring of foam around the edges of the glass.

    The aroma is a beautiful blend of pine, grass, and tropical mango fruits. A very nice aroma that is rich and bold.

    The taste is similar to the aroma with light sweetness that crisp and light and quickly works into a rich explosion of fruit. Mango, peach, apricot are the fruit that comes to mind. Pine flavor show up in the finish with very little bitterness. Some heat coming off this beer in the finish that adds a nice touch.

    Light to medium body with medium carbonation. Smooth oily mouth feel.

    Overall a very impressive beer! Amazing flavors of fruit that are fresh and bold with an impressive balance and great drink ability. The flavor is crisp fresh and mouth watering. This is a must try beer!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 30, 2012 at 22:00:10
  • Tasted: August 30, 2012 by tikibeer
  • $6.99 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.2 average
  • 9.2/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: 4
  • Aroma: The aroma on this is amazing. The hops are so overwhelming, but also crystal clear and clean. Resin. Fruit. Mango-ish? Grass. Spice. Crisp. The aroma is complicated, hinting at a lot of different hops. No bitterness, which is amazing. It smells like it's going to taste like a stunning beer.

    Look: Clear, translucent gold with hints of shiny bright yellow.

    Big flavor. Like the aroma, complicated. A lot of flavors going on. Big bitterness, but again, a crisp bitterness. Mango-ish again, fruityness, RESIN, almost syrupy resin. I'm totally enjoying this, but if I had a complaint- it would be the resin could put a cap on drinkablity. Same with the alcohol.

    It's funny, this beer is almost to big. I'm loving it, but that's a lot to put in your mouth!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 30, 2012 at 21:58:44
  • Tasted: August 30, 2012 by Retrofit
  • $6.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • The Alpine Beer Co. and New Belgium have come together for the love of IPAs. This collaboration is hop-wonderful with Amarillo, Columbus, Simcoe and Centennial hops, bringing the bitter all the way to the front. A nice balance Is present with Pale, C-80 and Carapils malts, but the tropical and citrus tones of the American hops dominate. This Super IPA pours a sheened copper and carries a bright, white head. Consider yourself a hero for getting an Alpine beer outside of San Diego
Cost Breakdown
  • $6.99, 4 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Malts
Hops