Log in Join now
Dark O' The Moon - Elysian Brewing Company

Dark O' The Moon

Overall: 7.1/10 by 4 dudes

Dudes: 6.8/10

Trend: 7.1/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Spice, Herb, or Vegetable Beer

ABV: 6.50%

IBU: 20

Season: Fall

Have Another: 75%

Add a Beer Review

354 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 7.5/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 7 | L: 8 | M: 7 | O: 7
  • Color: Black
  • A: Totally black with a medium khaki foam head.

    S: Definitely unique. A mix of charred malt, spice, chocolate, and low amount of pumpkin. The aroma is unusually appealing to me.

    T: First impression is of a real fleshy pumpkin, cinnamon, in a rather ordinary stout. Dry and not any sweetness. A kind of velvety mouth feel.

    O: Not a huge fan of pumkins, but mainly because of the over spicing. This beer isn't over spiced and had the most natural pumpkin flavor I have ever had. It's an interesting mix, and is an easy drinker. I would have again.

    O:
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 22:01:18
  • Tasted: January 24, 2013 by rich
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 7.2/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 6 | L: 8 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 21:49:25
  • Tasted: January 24, 2013 by tikibeer
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.2 average
  • 7.7/10 have another
  • A: 7 | T: 8 | L: 7 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: 30
  • Look: Dark, but a 1/4" of translucence so not as dark as the darkest stouts.

    Aroma: Hint of spice, hint of pumpkin, no hint of dark malts.

    Taste: Cinnamon, nutmeg, black patent? and pumpkin. The pumpkin is not strong and that's a good thing because to much pumpkin is a bad thing.

    It's a fine beer, a solid "Ok". Not a fan of pumpkin beers, but if I had to had to have a pumpkin beer or make one, it would be a stout- this beer taught me that. All pumpkin beers are not bad, learned something.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 21:49:01
  • Tasted: January 24, 2013 by Retrofit
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,133 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 6.1/10 have another
  • A: 7 | T: 6 | L: 9 | M: 5 | O: 5
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 21:40:20
  • Tasted: January 24, 2013 by scot
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle