Log in Join now
Founders Harvest Ale - Founders Brewing Company

Founders Harvest Ale

Overall: 9.2/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 9.2/10

Trend: 9.2/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Pale Ale

ABV: 6.50%

IBU: 70

Season: October

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.3/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 10 | O: 10
  • Color: Pale Gold
  • Update 10/20/2012: I agree with everything I said a year ago in 2011. Except now it costs $3.29 a bottle, and could only get 1-12ozer. Wish I could have more.

    A: It's color is golden gold, looks like real gold. It's got an ever so slight haze or maybe misty. White and soft small sized bubble foam with distinct lacing on the side of my pint glass.

    S: Great initial reaction, got a huge blast of orange citrus, some tropical fruits in the background. Seems like more straw aroma notes than any big malty direction. Stacks up tall against big IPAs, and definately West Coaster all the way through the nose.

    T: Extremely well balanced. First a full malt starts to wallow up, that's then very quickly over-run by a building hop bitterness, but that also quickly dials into a relaxed mind-melt of equalled parts. This brew is neither sweet nor roughly hopped. The 70 ibu's seems a perfect level to make this brew hopped up, but not over the top. The citrus is more of a feel than a flavor at this point. It's definately dry, but in sopisticated way. Finally, the mouthfeel is right where it should be for this type of beer, dead in the middle of light and heavy.

    O: I don't know why I didn't expect more of this brew. Short sighted cause Founder's best plays are BBA caramely darks. Sure I'm guility on that count. First, this brew is very well crafted and balanced. And it's nice to have such a robust build in a 6.5% abv. While it starts out like a regular West Coast IPA, it's got it's own profile on the hop flavor. Less fruity citrus, and more woodsy floral. My only knock is the price of $2.50 for a 12-oz bottle. (Why are Cali brews so much less expensive?) Overall this an awesome variant of the quickly, expanding seasonal offerings of harvest or fresh hopped IPAs. You've can't say you've experienced the top of the harvest ales without tipping this brew.
  • Reviewed: Friday, November 04, 2011 at 19:21:54
  • Tasted: November 04, 2011 by rich
  • $2.60 for 12 oz. bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Gold
  • I have been reviewing a lot of "fall" beers, mainly Oktoberfest, but this beer takes the cake for the best of the season with the hop presence.

    Poured clear with about half-inch of white foam. Surprisingly it didn't last long. Lacing is blotchy.

    Aroma is so awesome. Hops of all types: pine, citrus (orange, grapefruit), and floral play the nose like a accomplished violinist plays a 200 year old finely tuned instrument. Minor sweet malt.

    Taste has a splash of sweet malt up front, the middle follows with floral esters, the beer finishes with a burst of citrus hops, ending quickly with a slight bitterness aftertaste.

    Medium carbonation with a light body that, due to the carbonation, feels a little bit coarse.

    Easy drinking and crisp beer that makes for an awesome harvest beer. My one regret is that this beer only comes out once a year. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Monday, October 26, 2009 at 19:43:37
  • Tasted: October 26, 2009 by scot
  • $4.00 for 12 oz. bottle