Log in Join now
Backwoods Bastard - Founders Brewing Company

Backwoods Bastard

Overall: 9.2/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 9.2/10

Trend: 9.2/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Scottish Heavy Ale

ABV: 10.20%

IBU: 50

Season: November

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Roby Brown
  • A: Medium to deep Brown with a slight red tint and there's a slight haze. Foam head is beige and soft, that fades fairly quickly.

    S: Brown sugar, vanilla, maple, and molasses. the breadiness underneath and then a whiff of booze stops this brew from being some weird sugar bomb.

    T: Rather drinkable for all this beer could turn into. It's not overly sweet, maybe the 50 ibus mute with a stealthiness. But flavors abound and each sip reveals new twists into the dark sweetness not from sugars but more rural/traditional sources of sweetness spectrum.

    O: I've spent some time in the woods, and I would be extremely happy to have a solid supply of this brew in a cabin as I faced the onslaught of the impending white fury of early winter in the northern great lakes region. It brings warmth and earthy fullness that fits this time of year. No wonder this brew has been increasing hard to get each Fall as it is released. One of the best fall beers for cold climates.
  • Reviewed: Sunday, November 18, 2012 at 23:05:15
  • Tasted: November 18, 2012 by rich
  • $3.00 for 12 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 9.3/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 10 | O: 10
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • Pours a deep brown color with very little head, just a thin layer that quickly disappears, leaving a milky swirl on top. Some spotty watery lacing.

    On the nose I am getting a nice bourbon aroma with vanilla. Aroma is sweet with dark fruit scents as well as roasted malts and caramel.

    Taste is very similar to the aroma. Bourbon, vanilla, dark fruits that remind me of raisins or prunes, dark roasted malts and caramel and toffee. Fairly sweet from start to finish.

    Medium body with a medium carbonation. Creamy, slightly oily mouthfeel.

    A very nice beer with a nice level of complexity. Very drinkable beer for the style and the higher abv. An awesome winter beer that will warm you up on a cold winter night!
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, December 21, 2011 at 01:29:16
  • Tasted: December 20, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $3.69 for 12 oz. bottle
1,139 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.4/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 10 | M: 10 | O: 10
  • Color: Dark Brown
  • Poured slightly cloudy with an inviting quarter-inch of brown foam. Retention was minimal as it became less then a thin covering over my beer. Light lacing.

    Aroma is big on the bourbon. Oh beautiful bourbon. There is some caramel sweetness, vanilla, and oak too. Nice layering of aromas.

    Taste right on track with the nose. Toffee, caramel, vanilla, oak, bourbon, and even some hops. The bourbon, although large, doesn't take over the taste and the other flavors help to balance along with the slight bitterness of hops in the finish.

    Big carbonation is exactly what this beer needs to balance the big body, flavor, and aroma.

    I hate to through out tens as the beer is perfect in my mind. Well this is surely something to behold and I will cellar one to see what it tastes like next year. Founders never seems to let me down and this heavenly brew actually exceeded. Get some if you can. Outstanding. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Monday, November 16, 2009 at 21:33:33
  • Tasted: November 16, 2009 by scot
  • $4.00 for 12 oz. bottle