Log in Join now
Alpha Klaus - Three Floyds Brewing Company

Alpha Klaus

Overall: 8.9/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 8.9/10

Trend: 8.9/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Porter

ABV: 7.50%

Season: November through December

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review or Add a Short Beer Review

310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Black
  • Merry Christmas 2011!

    Pours black with a very slight hint of ruby red as I hold it up to the light. A nice one inch tan foam head settles into a thin layer of foam resting on top. Lacing sheets down the side of the glass.

    Aroma is big on fresh pine hops as well as chocolate and roasted malts. The pine hops are the strongest aroma with the roasted malts and chocolate helping to balance the aroma.

    Taste is rich and bold. Big bold roasted malts, chocolate, coffee and a nice bold pine and citrus hop. I detect a bit of grapefruit in the citrus flavors as well. Finishes with a nice blast of citrus and pine hops on the backend with a slight bitterness.

    Medium body and medium carbonation. Creamy on the palate with a slightly bitter pine/citrus aftertaste.

    Overall I really like this beer. Nice complex flavors and aromas that are well balanced, bold, and rich! I have been saving this one for Christmas, as I had it last year on Christmas and remembered it as the perfect Christmas beer. An awesome porter with a nice hop kick with that makes it fun and unique. Try one! Merry Christmas!
  • Reviewed: Sunday, December 25, 2011 at 23:26:29
  • Tasted: December 25, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
352 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • Aroma: Roasted Chocolate and little earthy.

    1st Taste: Slightly sweet, maybe dark fruits with roasted flavor in the background. As it should be, very well balanced.

    Overall: In my youth, we camped in Ontario, Canada and the highlight was the "unusual" beer we could buy at the Brewers Retail stores. I still remember a Molsons Oatmeal Porter, my first experience with a real dark beer. So I'll admit a soft spot for Porter's.

    But, favoritism aside I like this beer a lot. It seems like all my reviews about great brews talk about the balance of flavors. But, this brew just does such a great job of melding sweet malt, the roast of the malt, nice hops, and medium alcohol. It's FFF so hops are here, but to repeat...they are very nicely balanced into the brew with a mix of grapefruit and piney flavors. Mouthfeel is medium and for a brew loaded with IBUs and ABVs, overall lighter than you'd figured going in for the first taste. I like this Porter very much, and look forward to many a winter night in front of a fire with a load of Alpha Klaus bombers.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 03, 2009 at 22:46:05
  • Tasted: December 10, 2009 by rich
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,117 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.7/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Black
  • Poured very dark with a nice frothy, brown, one-inch foam. Enticing. Both retention and lacing were good for the style; possibly due to the huge injection of hops.

    When first poured the aroma of hops can be sensed a foot or more from the glass. Chocolate and roasted malts start to control the aroma after it sits for a few minutes to let you know that it is indeed a porter.

    Very interesting taste just like the aroma. Roasted, chocolate and even a bit of sweet malt prevail while the end of the beer contains citrus hops. Orange flavor that with nice finish. A slight roasted malt bitterness in the after taste but well into it.

    Medium body and carbonation with a bit of creaminess at times.

    This is a real twist on a porter. TF is known for their love of hops and I couldn't believe that amount of aroma and flavor from the hops. Try this beer and give yourself a minute to understand that this isn't Kansas anymore. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, November 18, 2009 at 00:35:07
  • Tasted: November 17, 2009 by scot
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle