Log in Join now
The Bellaire Brown - Short's Brewing Company

The Bellaire Brown

Overall: 8.0/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 8.0/10

Trend: 8.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Brown Ale

ABV: 5.20%

IBU: 15

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

357 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Brown
  • Aroma: Toasted malts and caramel notes.

    First Taste: My initial reaction was this is just a simple Brown ale. But, slowly the muted complexity comes forward. Medium to light mouth feel and carbonation, slightly dry.

    Overall: Love the style and loved this beer. While, the style can have bigger, thicker, and fuller brews..Short's version is very drinkable. Light roasted malt, light dry chocolate, light coffee, light earthly fruit, light creaminess, light sweetness, light hops...OK I am exaggerating the lightness factor, but my point is that great balance comes together in this Brown. I should have tried drinking it warm to determine if there's much of a change in flavors. After long pulls, I taste this really nice, soft, non-sweet caramel toastiness. A great brew to ease into the winter season. And, another proof point on why Shorts is on many "short" lists of hidden gem breweries.
  • Reviewed: Saturday, November 28, 2009 at 23:31:03
  • Tasted: November 28, 2009 by rich
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 7.0/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • Color: Brown
  • Poured clear with an off-white, half-inch foam that quickly became less than a thin layer on the beer.

    Aroma is chocolate and caramel malt, with not much of anything from hops. The overall aroma isn't that strong though.

    Very subtle flavor of sweet and chocolate malt. I slight hit of hops. Like the aroma this is on the weak side of taste.

    Big carbonation and a light medium body.

    Plain and simple, a really good example of the style that doesn't have any bells and whistles. This is very drinkable and easy going down. I still can't get over the fact that it is light in aroma and taste but does hit styles points. Having a few wouldn't hurt. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Friday, November 27, 2009 at 22:26:08
  • Tasted: November 27, 2009 by scot
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle