Log in Join now
North Peak Siren Amber Ale - Jolly Pumpkin Artisan Ales

North Peak Siren Amber Ale

Overall: 7.0/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 7.0/10

Trend: 7.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Amber Ale

ABV: 5.50%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 6.0/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • Color: Medium Amber
  • First things first: Rich thank you for bringing this one back from you latest trip to Detroit.

    Poured clear and aggressively creating a big, frothy slightly off-white foam that had some really good retention with some sticky lacing.

    Aroma of toffee and caramel malt that give a sweet scent with a breeze of nut. Not much else that I could find.

    Taste has a distinct bitterness up front that also lingers in the finish. Between and all around is the malt: sweet at first with some toffee and caramel. Nut flavors take on a big bite out of the finish. Flavor took a couple of sips but I like it even though the nuttiness might be too strong.

    Medium body and carbonation that seem usual of the style.

    The beer was crisp and had some good malt flavor but the way the beer came together just was different and not up my alley. I think I need to bring back Lenord Nemoy and In Search of...a good amber. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Monday, December 14, 2009 at 21:10:24
  • Tasted: December 14, 2009 by scot
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle
355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.0/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Medium Amber
  • Aroma: Slight toasty and faint whiff of fruit.

    First taste: Well balanced, as an American Amber should be. Skews to malt and very low hoppiness, so this brew has is in the light side of the Amber Ale spectrum.

    Overall: Agreeable taste, light mouth feel. This brew has a very soft touch all around. It's slightly malt sweet, and a touch of fruitiness comes through, but I'm hard pressed to identify because it is so subtle. It's a very clean taste, which I'm probably projecting because of the crisp, clean northern Lake Michigan water I expect is used in the brewing. Nothing shows up in the taste except the ingredients that should be there. I'll admit upfront my prejudice to this particular version of Amber, as a close kin to Oktoberfest style, a favorite of mine. The term session beer is overused in my opinion. But this my friends, is a brew I could drink for a extended period of time.

    Ok, now my only issue with North Peak Brewing Company. The American Craft Brewing movement is about transparency and full disclosure. Very little info on their brews is available at North Peak's website. From what I can tell, a new brewing entity in Michigan, Northern United Brewing is making North Peak. But, the good thing is that the management behind this new enterprise is Jolly Pumpkin's Ron Jefferies. Enough said.
  • Reviewed: Saturday, November 28, 2009 at 22:46:45
  • Tasted: November 28, 2009 by rich
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle