Log in Join now
Dreadnaught - Three Floyds Brewing Company

Dreadnaught

Overall: 9.2/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 9.2/10

Trend: 9.2/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 10.50%

IBU: 99

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Pale Amber
  • Aroma: Well done hop balance of citrus, fruit, light floral, and very light piney.

    1st Taste: Pronounced hop fruitiness, and a nice malt, carmel sweetness.

    Overall: Tape loop, complexity and balance equal great brew...and this is one. Appropriate hop bite. Really pleasant to drink. Very intriguing taste and compellingly creamy feel. You name the honey sweet fruit flavors, cause there are as many as you can imagine. The alcohol is there, but warms without overwhelming. FFF very, very seldom disappoints. You must find this beer.

    However, I would like to point out one "chink in the armor" of FFFs. The difference between this and and the stunning Green Flash IPA we tried just prior, how about 4 freaking dollars. The best ain't cheap I know, but we're in the GD 2....pls 3-Floyds, give us a break.
  • Reviewed: Saturday, January 23, 2010 at 22:39:32
  • Tasted: January 23, 2010 by rich
  • $11.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.3/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 9 | L: 10 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Dark Gold
  • Poured clear into my Two Brothers tulip glass. Foam is big, large bubbled, and off white. Retention is great and becomes a little frothy on top as it recedes. Unless it takes you more than three days to drink this beer, I would imagine there will always be foam on top. Lacing begins from the start, leaving s lightly sticking foam on the sides of the glass.

    Aroma begins with the popping of the cap. Hops, hops, and more sense shattering hops. Citrus, mango, pine, and peach (just as the bottle mentions) make for a very enticing brew. Sweetness is there too but the hop aroma is outstanding.

    Mango hops start the taste with some sweetness. A pine and citrus mix starts in the middle and ends with the taste. Bitterness is there but not overdone with a nice citrus and peach hops along for the ride.

    Medium body with a fair amount of carbonation. No alcohol or hop resin that could be detected.

    This is a really awesome beer. I would have to say that it is in the team photo for favorite imperials and beers. Do whatever you have to get some because it is worth it. Enjoy!

    Update: I had the evening to think about it and this beer has everything in terms of aromas and taste I want from an imperial ipa, so I bumped it up. :)
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 07, 2010 at 20:52:29
  • Tasted: January 07, 2010 by scot
  • $11.99 for 22 oz. bottle