Log in Join now
Double Trouble - Founders Brewing Company

Double Trouble

Overall: 8.0/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 7.9/10

Trend: 8.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 9.40%

IBU: 86

Season: Winter

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 8.0/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Gold
  • Pours a cloudy golden color with a half inch head. Head dissipates quickly leaving a milky swirl on top.

    Aroma is pine and citrus hops with a hint of caramel and spice.

    Taste is a great! Lots of pine and citrus hops. This beer starts out with very little taste when it first hits my mouth; the middle gives me a nice pine hop and works its way into a citrus (maybe grapefruit?) with a slightly bitter finish. Has a malty balance in there somewhere. I feel like this beer is right on the edge of a super hop bomb, but the malts mellow out the hops a little bit and keeps me wanting just a little more blast of hoppy flavor.

    Mouth feel is light, but has a creamy feel to it. Medium to high carbonation.

    Overall I really enjoyed this beer. I enjoyed the balance between the hops and the malts. This beer is complex and refreshing.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, May 05, 2011 at 00:42:31
  • Tasted: May 04, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $2.99 for 12 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 7.9/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • Color: Gold
  • Poured clear with a small amount of white foam that didn't last. Splotchy lacing.

    Aroma is pine, citrus and floral hops up front. Sweetness from the malt is the backbone. The malt also gives off a bready aroma with a resinous hops. I also got hints of alcohol.

    Taste is sweet from the malt up front to help balance the resinous, pine hop bitterness in the finish. No hops to begin and the floral and citrus hops seem to be nonexistent on the tongue. Bitterness stays for a while.

    Heavy end of light body with a good amount of crisp carbonation. Dry in the mouth.

    This is a bit average for a DIPA and a little bit less than what I have come to expect from Founders. I don't mind the light body but I was expecting a beer to be outside the box a bit and it just didn't get there. Still drinkable and better than average. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Monday, January 18, 2010 at 22:08:25
  • Tasted: January 18, 2010 by scot
  • $3.00 for 12 oz. bottle