Log in Join now
Scotty Karate Scotch Ale - Dark Horse Brewing Co.

Scotty Karate Scotch Ale

Overall: 7.4/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 7.0/10

Trend: 7.4/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Scottish Heavy Ale

ABV: 9.75%

Season: Fall through Winter

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 7.7/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Brown
  • Pours a muddy looking brown color with a half finger cream white head. Good retention on the head. Thick globbing lacing.

    Aroma is mild but has some nice things to offer. I am getting a sweet malt, a touch of caramel and a bit of smoke and dark fruits.

    Taste is big and bold with lots of smoke mixed with dark fruits. Sweet malts, bread, grain and some light molasses flavors dance around the palate on this beer.

    Medium body with light carbonation. Mouth feel is creamy and smooth, but leaves me with a sweet stickiness in the after taste.

    Overall, an interesting beer with a nice level of complexity. It's not an every day beer for me but I enjoyed this one and give it a thumbs up for creativity. Good drink ability for a beer that has a higher abv. Worth a try!
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, November 16, 2011 at 00:02:55
  • Tasted: November 15, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $2.19 for 12 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 7.0/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • Color: Brown
  • Poured clear with over an inch of tan, thick, and frothy foam. Fair retention with the foam frothier as it receded.

    Aroma hits with mostly smoke up front. Bread and grain malt with a touch of molasses/toffee like sweetness.

    Taste wasn't quite what I expected. The smoke, almost barbecue like, takes the spot light. Bready, chewy malt seems to be up front. Seems to finish with more malt.

    Surprisingly thin on the body with very mild carbonation.

    The smoke was a little overdone in terms of the other flavors for me. Otherwise the combination is well done and the drinkability of a beer that hides 10% alcohol is scary. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 21, 2010 at 21:02:33
  • Tasted: January 21, 2010 by scot
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle