Log in Join now
Sacred Cow IPA - Arbor Brewing Company

Sacred Cow IPA

Overall: 8.0/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 8.0/10

Trend: 8.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American IPA

ABV: 6.50%

IBU: 66

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.0/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 8 | L: 8 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Pale Amber
  • Appear/Aroma: Beautiful deep orange amber. Very thick frothy and heavy lacing. Complex citrusy fruit and inviting floral. Really appealing aroma.

    1st Taste: Super drinkable. Light fruits, cane sugar, and hop bite. Clean and refreshing.

    Overall: Hugely drinkable. Not overwrought, but solidly an IPA. Probably a "no" coast hop profile, but it's got a statisfying bite at the end. A high quality IPA that I'd like to always have a couple on ice.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, May 06, 2010 at 22:19:15
  • Tasted: May 06, 2010 by rich
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 7.9/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 8 | L: 7 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Gold
  • Explosion. Half my beer poured out on the table. What a mess. Worse than my kids. Poured cloudy into my pint. Had more foam than you could shake a stick at. Retention was pretty good and it left a sticky, web like lacing.

    Aroma is tame but there is citrus, floral, and a nice fruit scent. Sweet caramel malt backbone.

    Taste is bready and sweet malt up front with grapefruit and lemon in the middle. Pepper and bitterness hit in the finish with both continuing into the end.

    Medium body with almost a pulp of fruit feeling. Carbonation is good for the beer.

    A fairly good drinking ipa. The pepper isn't my bag and the combination with bitterness in the finish is a strange duet. Not bad, just not great, and not something I would have again. Enjoy!

    Edit (original 6, 6, 6, 6):
    My first go around with beer must have been old. Rich brought this from his recent trip. Much better, much fresher, and the pepper wasn't over the top. Citrus hops comes out more with it lingering into the finish.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 21, 2010 at 21:45:04
  • Tasted: January 21, 2010 by scot
  • $1.69 for 12 oz. bottle