Log in Join now
Arrogant Bastard Ale - Stone Brewing Company

Arrogant Bastard Ale

Overall: 8.1/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 7.0/10

Trend: 8.1/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Strong Ale

ABV: 7.20%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

1 beer rated with a 9.3 average
  • 9.3/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 8 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: The Color was a nice amber to
  • Put on a helmate! This beer is a wild ride. I like big beers and this fits the bill. I love the hops and how they interact with the more subtle malts in this beer. It grabs your palet and chokes it out in a head locck! If you are not looking for a beer that is over the top in just about every way it can be, then beware. If you are, your next stop on the great beer trail is at Arrogant Bastard Ale.
  • Reviewed: Sunday, July 31, 2011 at 07:21:39
  • Tasted: July 29, 2011 by qrb912
  • $3.00 for 12 oz. bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 7.0/10 have another
  • A: 7 | T: 7 | L: 7 | M: 7 | O: 7
  • Color: Dark Amber
  • Poured quite cloudy. Foam is about as big as the beer pour with tightly packed bubbles and tan in color. Great retention as the foam becomes very frothy. Lacing is awesome: sticky, thick, and web like. Some of the best lacing I have seen in a beer.

    Aroma is big on sweet, toffee, bready malt. Pine as well as other hop aromas are subdued. Old bottle?

    Taste has sweetness and toffee up front followed by nutty and bread malt then comes the hop bitterness; wave after wave. Very bitter and long lasting.

    Almost no carbonation on this medium bodied beer.

    I don't think I have a fresh bottle as the hop presence I have heard about was only on the bitterness side: aroma and flavor were absent. Otherwise I like the malt profile. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 28, 2010 at 21:58:26
  • Tasted: January 28, 2010 by scot
  • $4.99 for 22 oz. bottle