Log in Join now
Nugget Nectar - Tröegs Brewing Company

Nugget Nectar

Overall: 9.0/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 9.0/10

Trend: 9.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Amber Ale

ABV: 7.80%

IBU: 93

Season: February

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.3/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • Color: Medium Amber
  • A: Clear, rich golden amber. Delicate white foam

    S: Caramel malts, then fruity (mango) and citrus (mostly orange, than faint grapefruit. Very appealing

    T: Luscious is my first impression. Rich fruitiness of mango, apples, and orange is first. The balance of soft sweetness and mild hop bitterness is perfect, in my opinion. Low to medium mouthfeel, not sticky in any way. Carbonation is good.

    D: Without much excess to Troegs, I wasn't sure if all the accolades for this brew weren't just provincialism. Now, I know it isn't just hype, this is a really good brew. The Imperial Amber style designation threw me off a little, but I'm not really into style if it tastes good. It's a fresh and fruity brew that subtle in it's sweetness. I was lucky enough to trade for 3-bottles, wish I could have had more.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 31, 2011 at 21:19:30
  • Tasted: March 31, 2011 by rich
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.6/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Deep Amber
  • Pours clear with a ginormous, big bubbled, white foam. Retention is solid as the foam becomes a tad frothy as it shrinks. Lacing is sticky and web like.

    Aroma is big on da hops: pine, citrus, with a small amount of floral and spice. Sweet malt backbone to hold up all that hops.

    Taste is sweet to begin then the bushel basket of hops shows up. Pine and citrus are the big players with a bitterness in the finish that is sharp but short lived. A little bit drying with some peppery hops showing through in the end.

    Medium body and medium carbonation. Surprised that there isn't much hop resin.

    Hop profiles of beers that are huge in beer styles that they normally aren't, make for some fun surprises and some really good beers. This on fits the bill. For how big the beer is, not particularly filling but very good. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 18, 2010 at 21:51:24
  • Tasted: February 18, 2010 by scot
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle