Log in Join now
Spring Peeper Ale - Maine Beer Company

Spring Peeper Ale

Overall: 9.0/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 9.0/10

Trend: 9.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Pale Ale

ABV: 5.50%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

357 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Pale Gold
  • A: Slight haze to this pale, golden hued brew. Pure white foam head that's full and uniformly fluffy.

    S: Initialy there's a pronounced sweet citrus fruit aroma. Then it quickly becomes a faded memory.

    T: First, impression is a soft lemony, then dry without much malt sweetness. It almost seem chewy, but it's got a light mouthfeel. Obviously it has a hop profile, and I found it to be citrus without an overpowering bitterness.

    O: The Maine Beer Co is a favorite, though I am way off the NE distribution network grid. Maybe I'm a sucker for the uber sophisticd label look and text. Tough to get much info in brewery online description of their brews. This beer, Peepers Ale is a completely balanced ale from the perspectives of flavors and heft. It's certainly very well craft brew, and part of the top tier of my traded beer collection, it's also the ultimate session ale. And how can you not respect the brewery mission statement| "Do what's right" and is a "1% for the planet" company. I have nothing but respect for these Maine Beer folks!
  • Reviewed: Saturday, January 21, 2012 at 22:25:57
  • Tasted: January 21, 2012 by rich
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Gold
  • Poured cloudy into my favorite mason mug. The amount of white, sticky foam that filled the glass was on the ridiculous side (it even oozed out of the bottle after opening). Retention is very long lasting with the foam becoming frothy while leaving behind some nice sticky and bubbly lacing.

    Aroma is nice on the hops. Citrus, grapefruit, orange, etc - very fruity and pleasant on the sniffer. There is also a fruity sweetness to the beer.

    Taste is sweet and fruity. The hops is the exact profile from the aroma. The big fruitiness of the hops has a slight bitterness that quickly wanes and leaves a fruit salad of hops on the palate.

    Light in the mouth but the carbonation is huge (per the pour).

    This is really a great APA. The light body and the low abv would make one believe this would be light all around. No way. The nose and taste are top notch. Try and get your hands on this one. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, February 23, 2010 at 20:51:11
  • Tasted: February 23, 2010 by scot
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. bottle