Log in Join now
Moon Man - New Glarus Brewing Company

Moon Man

Overall: 8.7/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 8.6/10

Trend: 8.7/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Pale Ale

ABV: 5.00%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review or Add a Short Beer Review

310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 8.9/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 8 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Straw
  • Pours a nice clear straw color with a nice thick inch and a half head. Head is light and foamy and has good retention. Nice thick sticky lacing.

    Aroma is right on the money for me. Lot of sweet citrus and floral hops. The aroma is really clean and refreshing and draws me in.

    Taste is perfect and follows the aroma very closely. A nice balance of sweet citrus hops and a hint of floral and pine hops noticeable on the backend. Really well balanced and a very easy drinking brew.

    Mouth feel light with medium carbonation.

    Overall I am really impress with this beer. A very easy drinking beer with just the right balance all the way around. Definitely a big winner in my book!
  • Reviewed: Saturday, May 28, 2011 at 23:07:45
  • Tasted: May 28, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $1.69 for 12 oz. bottle
1,119 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.9/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 8 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Straw
  • Poured clear with at least a half glass of white, tightly packed foam. Retention was about average with the foam becoming frothy as it receded. Lacing was immediate in which it was sticky and web like.

    Aroma is hopped up, especially for a New Glarus beer as they are usually, at best, subdued. Nice, clean, and pleasant scents of pine, citrus, and floral. A cornucopia of hops. There is some soft sweet undertones.

    Taste is fantastic. So easy to drink. The hops is well done with almost no bitterness at all, instead leaving the mouth with flavors similar to the aroma. Sweet malt is there for balance but since the hops aren't crazy bitter, this light beer doesn't need much.

    Medium carbonation sits on top of this light bodied beer to enhance the beer.

    For all those that might say this beer isn't hopped enough: nay, nay. It is a perfect balance and it isn't an ipa, so don't expect one. I am biased towards New Glarus but, this being their first hoppy beer, they need to continue pushing the envelope. Nicely done. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, April 20, 2010 at 01:01:57
  • Tasted: April 19, 2010 by scot
  • $1.33 for 12 oz. bottle
352 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.2/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 8 | L: 7 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Straw
  • Aroma: Most hopped up brew from NG. Label says "five" hops, very layered and complex scents. And, very attractive. I get a little tired of laundry lists of aromas/flavors. Suffice to say, the overview is citrus and floral with soft piney tones, yet very much it's own personality.

    1st Taste: I am a huge fan of New Glarus so I want to choose my words carefully. The taste is crisp and clean, and there's a perfect balance of malt and hops. Some low level honey, malt sweetness. While the aftertaste has some hop residue, there's minimal bitterness. I'm not disappointed by this beer, but unlike many stoked up hop-focused APAs, this ones very subtle to reveal it's flavors.

    Overall: A touch of sweet lemon grass that's soft and refreshing. The right amount of mouthfeel and carbonation. I want to give this beer credit for multiple layers, but you must seek them out they aren't going to hit you over the head. The brewer call this a "no coast" APA, obviously a critic of the high-charged West Coast APA style. This is going to be a great summer/session/lawn mowing beer. I just wish that in the sum of all it's parts it had a little more of it's aroma personality...in the taste. But in the end, Dan Carey as always seeks his own path. I respect the fact that this brew for the summer season, doesn't have a logo with a sun, nor is it a orange/coriander wheat beer. I expect quality and uniqness from NG, and once again find it in this brew.
  • Reviewed: Saturday, March 27, 2010 at 00:08:45
  • Tasted: March 26, 2010 by rich
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle