Log in Join now
Jai Alai IPA - Cigar City Brewing

Jai Alai IPA

Overall: 9.0/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 9.0/10

Trend: 9.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American IPA

ABV: 7.50%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.1/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 10 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Pale Amber
  • A: Deep orangey pale amber. Very thick, almost meringue like foam of a light beige color. Good looking brew.

    S: Burnt orange citrus over soft toffee flavors.

    T: Great/perfect blend of 1/3rd's: tropical fruit, semi-sweet malt, and citrusy hop bite. Surprisingly light on the palate, well suited for hot weather. Full feel, but again it is balanced to the fresh side of balance.

    O: Am a huge fan of this beer. It is a legit tropical concoction, both in flavor and manner. I don't know if it's deep orange color influencing me, but I think this beer has a muddled, dark orange flavor. Just what I'd hope to find at a brewery in FLA. Sorry I don't get to drink this beer more often.
  • Reviewed: Sunday, April 02, 2017 at 22:20:16
  • Tasted: April 02, 2017 by rich
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. can
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.9/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 8 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Dark Gold
  • Poured clear into my Cigar City snifter with a small amount of white, large bubbled foam. Retention was racing while leaving just a bit of very splotchy lacing.

    Aroma is caramel sweet malt that pairs with the hops profile of tropical fruits, citrus, and some pine. Alcohol is there on the back end.

    Taste is a nice sweetness at first followed by the hops, mainly a bitterness that includes fruit and citrus. Bitterness in the after taste that doesn't last long while a touch of sweet shows again. Good stuff.

    Better than average amount of carbonation on top of a medium body. Slight chewiness at times.

    A lot of hops but very well balanced. Nothing seems to be overly out of place. For the alcohol level easy to drink and pleasant. Nice to have a good IPA that isn't over the top west coast style. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, March 30, 2010 at 20:41:54
  • Tasted: March 30, 2010 by scot
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle