Log in Join now
Dank - O'so Brewing Company

Dank

Overall: 8.4/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 8.4/10

Trend: 8.4/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Amber Ale

ABV: 9.20%

Season: December

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.4/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Amber
  • Poured clear with a ton of micro floaties. A very thin layer of tan foam doesn't last while producing a spotty, small, sticky lacing.

    Aroma of sweet, caramel, and toffee fills the nose. No real hops to speak of while there is a good amount of diacetyl (butter).

    Fair to say this is a malt bomb through and through. Sweet, caramel, and toffee notes up and down the taste. There is an ever so slight citrus hops to help balance but not enough. The diacetyl shows up again but I don't think it takes away from the beer. The beer warms up and then comes some vanilla and oak. Layers, like an onion.

    Medium body and carbonation with a bit of coating silkiness.

    This beer has tons of complexity to make it very interesting. I think it change in temperature bring out more. The diacetyl isn't high on my list of likes in a beer. Alcohol becomes apparent as it warms. Good and interesting. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 15, 2010 at 22:51:58
  • Tasted: April 15, 2010 by scot
  • $3.09 for 12 oz. bottle
355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.3/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Pale Amber
  • Healthy golden, orangey amber with attractive head that quickly dispate. Really interesting aroma of caramel and toffee deliciousness.

    Sweet maltly sugarness. Some orchard fruit and spiceiness slightly offset the sweet. Maybe some vanilla and bready apples.

    Balancing the sweetness is not complete, but there's complexity that still grabs my interest. My senses are working overtime to process all the input and I'm not sure what's driving all the notes. Don't fault this beer for the sweetness, soak on it a bit, and relish the variety of the flavors. The plus 9% abv at times gets lost in everthing that's going on. This brew may have some flaws, but it's got a super personality, and it's a kalidescope of movements of flavor. Worth taking a ride on... and multiople times.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 15, 2010 at 22:51:15
  • Tasted: April 15, 2010 by rich
  • $3.09 for 12 oz. bottle