Log in Join now
Spotted Cow - New Glarus Brewing Company

Spotted Cow

Overall: 9.0/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 9.0/10

Trend: 9.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Cream Ale

ABV: 4.80%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 9.1/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • Color: Pale Gold
  • I have been looking forward to trying this beer. I have heard good things about it. This past weekend my wife and I went to Wisconsin to visit family and I had a chance to pick up a 12 pack.

    Pours a pale golden color with a cloudy haziness. Half inch head of fluffy foam head. Head dissipates quickly leaving a thin layer on top.
    Nice lacing.

    Aroma is nice a refreshing. I get a bit of citrus maybe lemon, and a maltiness.

    Taste is really well balanced on this beer. I am getting a sweet lemon that is relatively mellow, but works well with the malts. I am also getting a bit of spice. Very subtle, but it is on the back end. This beer is really creamy. I get a bit of dryness on the backend.

    The mouth feel on this beer is perfect. It has a creamy feel while still being light and refreshing. Low to medium carbonation.

    Overall this beer lives up to the hype. It is really enjoyable. I would sum up this beer by saying it reminds me of a pale ale mixed with a Belgium ale. Try one, you won't be disappointed!
  • Reviewed: Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 18:59:14
  • Tasted: May 07, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $1.40 for 12 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Yellow, cloudy
  • A week after visiting New Glarus I finally decided to crack open the first beer that I bought while on the brewery hop. This is New Glarus's flagship beer and probably my favorite of the different varieties I have tried to this point. You might think this review will be biased but the beer is good, period.

    Poured the beer into my Spotted Cow glass I picked up on the brewery hop. It had a half finger white foamy head, with little retention and lacing.

    The aroma hints of lemon (lemongrass?) with something sweet in there. Maybe the malts and/or the yeast.

    Holy udders: surprise of creaminess, sweet malt, and a touch of hops to cut through the sweetness. Really nicely balanced beer.

    The amount of carbonation in the glass seems a lot less than that to the palate. No matter, it doesn't take away from the beer. This is a light beer, some may say possibly watery, but that is what the beer is: a summer beer that just flat out is crisp, clean, and easy to swallow.

    This is a refreshing beer that I could session anytime on a hot, humid summer day in Chicagoland. If you try anything from New Glarus, make sure it is Spotted Cow! Going down to the basement frig for seconds. Yum!
  • Reviewed: Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 21:56:05
  • Tasted: June 27, 2009 by scot
  • $1.34 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.37, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Highest Rated Similar Beers