Log in Join now
Barfly - Barley Island Brewing Company

Barfly

Overall: 8.5/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 8.6/10

Trend: 8.5/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American IPA

ABV: 5.60%

IBU: 60

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 8.2/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Medium Amber
  • Pours a nice medium amber color that has a hint of orange to it. Nice two inch off white head that thick and foamy. Good retention on the head with thick foamy lacing.

    Aroma is very pleasant. I am getting a citrus hop along with a grain or bready aroma. Has an earthiness to it with a hint of floral.

    Taste is clean and refreshing. Has a bit of a mellow start that works into a robust citrus floral hop. Has a nice sweetness to it. Finishes with a mild bitterness that lingers on the palate.

    Medium body with light to medium carbonation. Sweet and sticky mouth feel.

    Overall this is another solid IPA. Well balanced, clean and refreshing. I like it.......try one!
  • Reviewed: Monday, June 27, 2011 at 00:07:22
  • Tasted: June 26, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.5/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Amber
  • Poured clear into my pint glass. The foam is off-white, about a third of the glass, and thick. Retention is really nice while leaving some very sticky, splotchy lacing throughout.

    Aroma is equal parts citrus hops with a bread malt backbone. Slight hints of floral develop. The malt profile is reminiscent of fat tire.

    Taste is a little sweeter than I expected based on the nose. A nice floral, citrus hop profile starts almost immediately and lasts through to the finish. A pleasant and not over powering bitterness lasts for a while.

    Medium body might be a little generous, but, then again, might easily placed here. Nice carbonation with a sticky mouth.

    Being pleasantly surprised by a beer is never a bad thing. Barfly goes above and beyond my expectations by a long shot. Has almost a presence of being much bigger than it is. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Monday, June 07, 2010 at 20:50:40
  • Tasted: June 07, 2010 by scot
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
357 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.7/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Deep Orange Amber
  • A: Great hue of orange-amber, slightly cloudy. Big foamy head, not super sticky, but did stick around.

    S: Not as attractive as the taste. A little bready, citrusy.

    T: Great zap of citrus and floral. The taste is orange / grapefruit, then muffled malt sweetness, and a subtle hop bite at the end. A medium mouthfeel and carbonation is great.

    D: Wasn't expecting much and found I really liked it. Big personality for a "regular" IPA, I've had Imperials that were not as assertive. West Coast hops meets Midwest fruits and in very balanced brew. I'll seek out this brewers other works.
  • Reviewed: Saturday, June 05, 2010 at 21:31:06
  • Tasted: June 05, 2010 by rich
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. tap