Log in Join now
Coffee Bender - Surly Brewing Company

Coffee Bender

Overall: 9.3/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 9.2/10

Trend: 9.3/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Brown Ale

ABV: 5.50%

IBU: 45

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 9.4/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 10 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Ruby Brown
  • A friend of mine from work picked this up for me while on vacation a few weeks ago! Thanks Jen!

    Pours ruby brown in color with a big tan frothy head. Good retention on the head with nice web like lacing.

    The aroma is a big rich blast of coffee, dark chocolate and a hint of malt sweetness.

    The taste is a rich malty blend of coffee and roasted malts. Chocolate and hints of vanilla are noticeable in the finish. Starts with with a light sweetness and finishes with a hint of coffee bitterness.

    Light body with medium carbonation. Creamy smooth mouth-feel but light at the same time, very drinkable.

    Overall, an impressive beer from Surly. Great flavors that are well balanced and enjoyable. I am a big fan of coffee and beer and this beer nails it! Wish is it was available in my area. A must try beer for any coffee lover!
  • Reviewed: Monday, October 08, 2012 at 01:09:33
  • Tasted: October 07, 2012 by tikibeer
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. can
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.1/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 10 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Brown
  • Note: my 500th review.

    Pours clear with ample mocha colored foam. Retention is quite good with lacing leaving behind some nice webs.

    Aroma is big on the coffee and such a pleasant coffee scent. Malts are the back bone to the beer: roasted, coffee, dark chocolate, and even some bread.

    Taste follows the aroma to a 't.' The coffee is more of the old fashioned from Grandma's kitchen and that's the type I really like.

    A medium bodied beer with ample carbonation to round out the quality taste.

    Another quality Surly offering. I put this right behind Furious in terms of my favorite beers by them. I can't really have more than one at a time but I do keep coming back for more. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Monday, August 23, 2010 at 20:53:30
  • Tasted: August 22, 2010 by scot
  • $2.49 for 16 oz. tap
355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.3/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 10 | L: 8 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Ruby Brown
  • A: Good look overall, but no hint of the pleasure to come. Ruby Brown is always an enticing look, and add a full figured foamy head for the total package.

    S: The subtle scent of very rich malt with a enticing exotic, aromatic coffee suggests I'm about to taste something great.

    T: The depth of pleasure in this brew is wildly expansive. First, I'm a huge coffee fan and this Guatemalan blend used here is outstanding. Add that rich taste to seven Belgian / English malts and you're now cooking with gas. I'm getting cocoa, obviously rich coffee, and caramel with hints of vanilla and cream. Not sticky nor too heavy, sort of like a beer frapachino.

    D: This is the perfect reach into a heavier set than the normal summer wheat, drinking it on a humid, stormy summer night on the prairie. Surly is a excellent regional brewery who's reputation is only limited because of it's narrow distribution band. I stuffed (4) four-packs of 16oz cans in my suitcase on a recent trip to Minneapolis. My regret is that I didn't have a bigger suitcase. These folks know how to make great brews and they use a high grade of ingredients to match their skills. Seek out Surly, brews not attitude.
  • Reviewed: Saturday, June 05, 2010 at 22:46:56
  • Tasted: June 05, 2010 by rich
  • $3.50 for 16 oz. tap