Log in Join now
Zoe - Maine Beer Company

Zoe

Overall: 9.0/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 9.0/10

Trend: 9.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Amber Ale

ABV: 7.20%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • A:Attractive brunette with deep brown color. Thick, bubbly, brown tinted white foamy head.

    S: Piney, light citrus and floral. Coyly drawing me in.

    T: Very nice flavor. Perfect blend of a subtle malt sweetness and sophisticated hop notes. The resulting personality in very unique and attractive. Great carbonation, with a micro dose of toffe, then floral, piney hop bite, and finally some spiceyness. Is there a con, yeah the drinkability is high and so is the stealth 7.2% abv...I could easily drink a few of these in rapid session and be rocking.

    D: We're very lucky to have obtained a few bottles of this brewer's fare from a very cool beer trader. From what I've read about the Maine Beer Company, I definately an a BIG fan of their social responsibility, but at the end of the day they can flat out brew great beer. And Zoe is our second proof point of their skills. Loved the originality of this Brew. The Amber style is pretty wide, so it's hard to guess what you're in for. Seek out this brewers products.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 17, 2010 at 22:47:26
  • Tasted: June 17, 2010 by rich
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.9/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 8 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Ruby Brown
  • Pours clear and slightly opaque. Foam is about a inch thick, frothy, and tan. Retention is about average with a nice thick lacing.

    Aroma of toffee/toasted caramel and maybe even nutty malt are the backbone. Hops are pleasant: pine, citrus, and floral. Nice.

    Taste is toffee, nutty, sweet malt each taking their turn on the palate. Hops are there and in an amount to let you know they are there without taking over the beer. Hops are more of a spice nature with citrus riding shotgun.

    Body is medium which is where the carbonation seems to be also.

    This a really nice, well rounded amber. The malt and hops both play such a well balanced roll and have their time in the sun. Maine brewing company is quickly becoming one of those breweries that I want to have around as much as possible. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 17, 2010 at 22:44:38
  • Tasted: June 17, 2010 by scot
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. bottle