Log in Join now
Breakfast Stout - Founders Brewing Company

Breakfast Stout

Overall: 9.2/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 9.0/10

Trend: 9.2/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial Stout

ABV: 8.30%

IBU: 60

Season: September through December

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 9.5/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 10 | L: 10 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Black
  • Review #300

    I have had this beer may times and have always enjoy it, so it is finally time to give it an official review.

    Pours black with a hint of ruby red around the edges of the glass. The pour produces a nice thick heavy one inch head, khaki in color. Lacing sheets down the sides of the glass.

    The aroma is rich and inviting. Coffee, chocolate, and sweet malts blend together with a heavy creaminess.

    The taste is creamy and smooth and just as rich and impressive as the aroma. Coffee, Chocolate, and sweet malts with coffee being the biggest player. Perfectly balanced flavors with a hints of bitterness from the coffee off setting the sweetness.

    Heavy body with medium carbonation. Creamy and smooth on the palate with sweet sticky feel on the lips and a touch of dryness on the finish.

    Overall, an amazing beer. This is one of my favorite oatmeal stouts. Everything about this beer is right on the money for me. Perfectly balanced and unbelievable creamy and smooth! If your a fan of oatmeal stouts, this needs to be on your must try list!
  • Reviewed: Sunday, January 27, 2013 at 02:10:50
  • Tasted: January 27, 2013 by tikibeer
  • $3.79 for 12 oz. bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Black
  • I have been wanting to taste this beer for a long time. Finally found some at the liquor store across the street from work. Is there any better type of liquor store? It is a breakfast stout, so this 9am tasting seems well deserved and placed.

    Beer pours two fingers of coffee colored, fluffy foam. Good retention with lacing to the last drop. The aroma is filled with coffee, chocolate, and sweet malt. The coffee is the strongest of the three scents with the chocolate scents riding shotgun. Such a yummy smell. I enjoyed several servings.

    By the sweet nectar of the gods, this beer is smooth! Coffee, chocolate, and sweet malt, just like the aroma, all blended together perfectly. The high alcohol doesn't come through in the taste at all. Medium carbonation and mouthfeel seem perfectly placed on a close to perfect beer.

    Two more days left on this extended weekend, in honor of our country and this beer, I plan on having one each morning with breakfast. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Friday, July 03, 2009 at 14:48:18
  • Tasted: July 03, 2009 by scot
  • $3.75 for 12 oz. bottle