Log in Join now
Bardstown Brand Ale Aged In Bourbon Barrels - Olde Hickory Brewery

Bardstown Brand Ale Aged In Bourbon Barrels

Overall: 7.6/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 7.6/10

Trend: 7.6/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Barleywine

ABV: 10.00%

Season: One-Time

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

357 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 6.7/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • Color: Medium Amber
  • A-Dark side of Medium Amber. Tan foam head quickly disapted.

    S-Deep carmelized, brown sugar, and rich bourbon. Maybe best aroma of all time.

    T-Malt sweetness, followed by bourbon. There's a bunch of other notes that are typical of a bourbon aged brews like; vanilla, toffee, raisin, prunes, etc. Much thinner than I'd expect, and very low carbonation, but this is a three year old bottle.

    D-The initial aroma was really appealing, but the subsequent tastings didn't match for me. Overall, the taste that dominated was alcohol / whiskey. which would have been great if off-set by other flavors and textures. It seemed just too thin in mouthfeel and tastes, other than alcohol. In isolation of other great bourbon barrel aged brews I'd probably rate it higher, but it's in a tough league.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 09, 2010 at 22:52:21
  • Tasted: September 09, 2010 by rich
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.4/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Deep Amber
  • 2007 Vintage Bottle.

    Poured clear with minimal off-white foam that is fleeting. No lacing.

    Aroma is big on outstanding sweet, molasses bourbon. Vanilla is a nice complexity that really rounds out the beer on the nose.

    Taste follows the nose but not quite as big. Molasses, bourbon, vanilla, wood, and some mute dark fruits.

    Hard to believe but this is actually a thin beer, almost light body but I will give it medium. Carbonation is really gone but there is a prick here and there on the tongue. Some heat a bit drying on the tongue.

    The aroma is the killer part of this beer with the taste not too far behind. It falls apart in body: it just isn't that big for a barleywine let alone for one that has been bourbon aged. That all said, overall I liked the beer. Very smooth and I couldn't believe how crazy hot this might have been. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 09, 2010 at 22:49:19
  • Tasted: September 09, 2010 by scot
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • This is a strong barley wine at 10% alc/vol that was aged in Bourbon Barrels for a year. Bardstown has a wonderful aroma of vanilla, fruit, smoke, oak and alcohol. On the palate you first taste sweet malt, vanilla, ripe fruit and raisons followed closely by the warmth of alcohol and tannic oak.
Beer Swapping