Log in Join now
Key Lime Pie - Short's Brewing Company

Key Lime Pie

Overall: 7.7/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 7.7/10

Trend: 7.7/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Spice, Herb, or Vegetable Beer

ABV: 5.75%

Season: One-Time

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

357 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 7.5/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Pale Amber
  • A: Normal, clear pale gold.

    S: Very hard to decifer. Some roasted malt, then a whole bunch of other stuff

    T: Not bad at all. Lactose, sweetness (not so much malt), a tangy citrus, and other flacore.

    D: Very surprised I liked this brew. In general I hate spice and gimmicky beers, and this seemed like it would be the poster child for all of that. But, damn I kind of liked the taste. Somehow the blend Shorts did of marshmallows, graham crackers, lactose, limes, malt, hops, and who knows what else blended into a decent tasting mix.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 30, 2010 at 21:13:33
  • Tasted: September 30, 2010 by rich
  • $2.19 for 12 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 7.8/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Amber
  • Pours with about an inch of off-white, thick foam. Retention is about average with some light sticky lacing.

    Aroma is something that I just can't put my finger. Sugar with a zest from citrus with some wheat malt.

    Taste is interesting. A little bit of sweet, zest citrus, and again wheat malt but a bit bread too.

    Light bodies with very little carbonation. Almost hard to detect.

    Usually gimmick beers aren't for me as they are over the top and just that: a gimmick. Somehow and some way, Short's pulls this one off well. I couldn't drink a bunch but the occasional would be fun and interesting.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 30, 2010 at 21:07:23
  • Tasted: September 30, 2010 by scot
  • $2.19 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • Bottle says: Beer brewed with marshmallow and lactose with lime and graham crackers added.
Cost Breakdown
  • $2.19, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping