Log in Join now
Back In Black - 21st Amendment Brewery

Back In Black

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.0/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 8.0/10

Trend: 8.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American IPA

ABV: 6.80%

IBU: 65

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

1,150 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 7.8/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • Pours clear with tan, quarter inch, wispy foam. Retention was fleeting at best while the lacing was very spotty and minor.

    Aroma is subtle but sweet, light roasted malt. Hops are grassy, really light.

    Taste is a little thin up front with sweet, the middle brings on the roast that lasts through to the finish. The end has a little more sweet with grassy and citrus hops. Roast is lasting into the after taste.

    Thin on the body while there is a crisp carbonation. Drying.

    A little lighter on the nose than I would have liked but the overall beer grew on me a bit. This style is growing on me too, just not much of these not on the west coast. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, October 28, 2010 at 21:20:52
  • Tasted: Thursday, October 28, 2010
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. can
358 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.2/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • A: Deep Brown, not totally opaque, a little redish brown when held to a bright light. Tan, small b ubble head quickly disappeared.

    S: Roasted malt and a touch of sweetness. Fairly faint aroma overall.

    T: Roasted malt, and then an interesting citrusy hop blending, without any hop bite but a light bitterness in the background. Thin mouthfeel, with pretty decent carbonation. I'm not sure how to describe the soft malt sweetness, but it's muted by an emerging dryness.

    D: Very interesting. It's kind of mysterious in trying to guess the hop profiles and which flavors are blending together. High drinkability factor. Plus it definately original. A couple extra points thrown in for being named after one of my fav AC/DC songs. I am a fan.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, October 28, 2010 at 21:20:37
  • Tasted: Thursday, October 28, 2010
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.99, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
  • $1.99, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. cans
Beer Swapping
Malts
Hops