Log in Join now
Doubly Down 'N Even Dirtier - Tyranena Brewing Company

Doubly Down 'N Even Dirtier

Overall: 9.0/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 9.0/10

Trend: 9.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial Stout

ABV: 7.50%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.2/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 9 | L: 8 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • A: Black as night. Brownish, small bubble average foam.

    S: Brown sugar and chocolate with dark malts. Fainter notes of caramel and vanilla. It had me with the first sniff.

    T: Chocolate, vanilla, dark fruits, coffee, and very faint bourbon finish. Medium mouthfeel, not overwhelming weight. Definately know it was aged in oak. Sweet tasting without being too sweet.

    D:Complexity and slow to reveal it full spectrum, sum up my experience with this brew. Could be a dessert brew that almost tastes like a mily chocolately brew treat, but without being overwrought. Tyranena keeps improving all the time.
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, November 23, 2010 at 22:26:41
  • Tasted: November 23, 2010 by rich
  • $2.50 for 12 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.2 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: 33
  • Blackish. Thin clingly head.
    Huge pleasant aroma. Toast. Malt. Coffee. This smells likes it's going to be a great beer.
    Taste: Wow isn't big enough. All the aroma's are present in the flavor. Toasted malt, coffee, a finish that has bourbon and oak. Some vanilla. Hints of chocolate on the end. So much going on, complicate. More than pleasant.
    Body: Heavyish. Well balanced.
    Crazy good. I would drink this till I knew I was going to get sick.
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, November 23, 2010 at 22:20:59
  • Tasted: November 23, 2010 by Retrofit
  • $2.50 for 12 oz. bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.8/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 10 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Black
  • Pours opaque with better than an inch of brown, cocoa foam. Retention is quite good with the foam becoming wispy and eventually completely disappearing. There is some minor, thin lacing but it seeks it's level quickly.

    Aroma is roasted malt and chocolate hiding just barely below foremost. Light vanilla and oak are there with a bit of work. No bourbon on the nose.

    Taste is possibly slightly sweet up first, with roasted malt quickly becoming the dominant flavor. High lights of oak and vanilla are very nicely complementary. The bourbon is far in the back, adding a nice subtle complexity. No heat from the bourbon. Chocolate/cocoa comes on strong in the end and coats to remind you of what you just had. Damn smooth.

    This is a medium mouth feel with minimal carbonation which is the right way to do it with these big beers. The oak dries the palate a bit. Creamy and somewhat bitter in the end.

    I have been a fan since my first Tyranena beer (Blackhawk Porter) about 18 months ago. I have been chasing them since, especially their Brewer Gone Wild series; even calling the brewery to find out what is coming next. This beer delivers and keeps on delivering. Big, complex, smooth, but yet not filling, which for big stout people good leave you disappointed. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, November 17, 2010 at 21:46:06
  • Tasted: November 17, 2010 by scot
  • $2.50 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • Bottle completes the name with "Barrel-Aged Chocolate Vanilla Double Stout."
Cost Breakdown
  • $2.50, 3 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping