Log in Join now
Bully! Porter - Boulevard Brewing Company

Bully! Porter

Overall: 8.4/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 8.2/10

Trend: 8.4/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Porter

ABV: 5.40%

IBU: 49

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 8.5/10 have another
  • A: 7 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Black
  • Pours black in color with a huge two inch root beer style head. Great retention on this beer. The head mellows very slowly and leaves think foamy lacing.

    Aroma is pretty mellow. Not getting much more that roasted malts with a hint of molasses and liquorice .

    Taste is great. Starts out fairly mellow when it first hits my palate, but works into a nice big flavor. Lots of roasted malts with a nice blend of chocolate and coffee on the backend. End with a hint of sweet liquorice.

    Mouth feel is dry on the palate. Semi-sweet. medium body with medium carbonation.

    Overall a great beer. I would have this any time. I will buy this one again. It is a dark beer, but I could enjoy this one in the winter or even on a hot summer day. Try one, you won't regret it!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 23:18:39
  • Tasted: May 26, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $1.59 for 12 oz. bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.2/10 have another
  • A: 7 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Black
  • Poured opaque with an enormous mocha, thick foam. Retention was outstanding with the foam becoming very frothy. Lacing was abundant and sticky.

    Aroma isn't that big to me but mostly roasted malt. There seems to be a slight molasses sweetness that compliments. Bitter.

    Too bad the nose isn't on the level of the taste. Roasted malt is once again in the forefront but aided by a cornucopia of flavors: dark chocolate, sweet, dry, coffee, grains, etc. An explosion in the mouth.

    Medium mouth with about the same carbonation which both bode well for the brew.

    A solid porter, especially for a year round beer. I could have this over and over again. Just wish the nose had a bit more. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Saturday, November 20, 2010 at 19:25:20
  • Tasted: November 20, 2010 by scot
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle