Log in Join now
Anniversary Ale 2009 - Short's Brewing Company

Anniversary Ale 2009

Overall: 8.0/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 7.8/10

Trend: 8.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Barleywine

ABV: 11.20%

Season: Spring

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review or Add a Short Beer Review

  • 7.2/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 6 | L: 9 | D: 7 | O: 7.2
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, November 23, 2010 at 21:37:38
  • Tasted: November 23, 2010 by rich
  • $2.37 for 12 oz. bottle
  • Color: Medium Amber
  • A: Reddish,Orange Amber that's a tad murky. Tan, thin foam head.

    S: Very unique blend of orange and malt sweet. Kind of reminds me of a candy store smell.

    T: Sweet, spicy, orange citrus, and alcohol. Low to medium mouthfeel, and low side of carbonation. A little to far to syrupy side for consuming much of this in one sitting. Not sure I've had many wheatwine. And the 11.7% abv is huge.

    D: Totally unique, unlike very few beers. Very sweet and somewhat of an liquor aftertaste, loses points on balance and drinkability. But. I give it mucho pints for style.
  • 8.6/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 9 | L: 8 | D: 7 | O: 8.6
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, November 23, 2010 at 21:32:43
  • Tasted: November 23, 2010 by Retrofit
  • $2.39 for 12 oz. bottle
  • Color: 1o
  • Wow! Orange to hint or red. Thin to no head. Aroma: Orange! As it warms up, the pepper can be noticed in the air.
    Taste: Sweet, almost sickly sweet. Heavy orange up front. First thought is hint of hops in back, but probably the pepper. As more is drank and the bitter burn goes away the pepper becomes more noticed.
    Body: Medium. The sweetness borders on syrup which can limit how many can be drank. Balanced in the sense of one maybe two, but sweetness is heavy and keeps this from being a session brew.

    Do I like this beer? Yes. Can I drink it all night long? No.
  • 8.3/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 8 | L: 9 | D: 7 | O: 8.3
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, November 23, 2010 at 21:29:19
  • Tasted: November 23, 2010 by scot
  • $2.39 for 12 oz. bottle
  • Color: Amber
  • Pours clear with about a half inch, off-white foam. Retention is okay with barely any lacing.

    Aroma is orange and more orange but strangely not over whelming. Some alcohol with light sweetness.

    Taste is a bit sweet up front becoming more orange and citrus dominated. A bit of spice comes in the end. Each seemed well balanced and create a very unique taste.

    Big body with mild splash of carbonation. There is some heat from the alcohol. Sweetness becomes almost cloying.

    Definite different take on a wheat wine. I think the beer could sit back and relax a year or two to let the heat settle but it isn't a deterrent. Could only have one in a sitting but I could see myself pouring this into a glass again. Enjoy!