Log in Join now
Black Tuesday - The Bruery

Black Tuesday

Overall: 9.9/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 10.0/10

Trend: 9.9/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial Stout

ABV: 19.00%

IBU: 40

Season: October

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 10.0/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 10 | M: 10 | O: 10
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • A: Black brown.

    S: Molasses, dark fruit, and alcohol. Totally unique.

    T: Super unique taste. It crazy, but the big molasses sweetness is totally balanced by the alcohol.

    O: Deserves all the hype, really great beer. Must like booze. And this one's a little green, should be awesomely awesome after a few years.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 01, 2011 at 22:25:19
  • Tasted: December 01, 2011 by rich
  • $30.00 for 750 ml bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 9.6/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • Pours a clear deep brown color with a one finger frothy head. Head dissipates quickly with very little evidence that the head ever existed. No lacing.

    Aroma is huge. This is a huge beer with lots of alcohol in the aroma. I am getting dark fruits and milk chocolate with a hint of molasses and dark malts.

    Taste has a ton of heat from the high abv. Up front I get some dark fruits, maybe prunes, and milk chocolate that follows all the way into the finish. I am getting a hint of coffee also. The warmth that comes off this beer is huge. The high abv is not hidden at all, but does not make this beer feel off balanced. It's like sipping whiskey.

    Bid body with medium carbonation. Milky creamy and smooth.

    Overall, I am impressed with this beer. I think that cellaring this beer for a few years would tame the alcohol down on this beer and take some of the heat out of it. Great flavors and well balanced, but plan on sharing this one with a few friends as the high abv is a little over the top for just one guy. Try one!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 01, 2011 at 22:09:36
  • Tasted: December 01, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $30.00 for 750 ml bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.9/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 9 | M: 10 | O: 10
  • Color: Black
  • 2009 bottle shared by Mark at TNBC.

    Poured deep and dark like motor oil with a bit of brown fizz on top. Retention and lacing weren't really part of this drink.

    Aroma is beautiful. Ch0colate met me first and foremost followed by dark fruits, molasses, roasted malt, and touch of alcohol. Layered and well balanced.

    Taste is again perfect. Slightly sweet up front but quickly giving way to more interesting and complex: chocolate, molasses, and dark fruits. Chocolate lingers a bit but the alcohol is quick too retreat on the back of the mouth.

    Big, bold, and heavy body with mild carbonation that is creamy on the tongue.

    Well orchestrated for the senses. This is just about as close to perfect of a beer you can get. I would say best in style that I have had. Now I have to get more. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, December 22, 2010 at 09:00:21
  • Tasted: December 22, 2010 by scot
  • $30.00 for 750 ml bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • Our infamous Black Tuesday is an Imperial Stout aged in Bourbon barrels for over a year. Rich caramel, toasted malt, vanilla, burnt wood, anise are just a few of the many flavors of this rich, decadent imperial stout.
Cost Breakdown
  • $30.00, 3 serving(s), 750 ml bottles
Beer Swapping