Log in Join now
Dark Lord - Three Floyds Brewing Company

Dark Lord

Overall: 9.1/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 9.1/10

Trend: 9.1/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Russian Imperial Stout

ABV: 15.00%

Season: April

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.4/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 10 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Black
  • I don't know what happened to my review that I wrote. I think the wife was ready to leave and I shut down the browser before submitting, crap!

    Pours opaque with a tan, thin foam that doesn't hang around for long.

    Aroma is dark roasted malt with molasses, brown sugar, dark fruits. Alcohol, chocolate, coffee, and the kitchen sink all play a tune on senses. There is a level of sweetness from the sugars that give it a "thickness" of scent.

    Taste has a lot of sweetness throughout without being cloying as other flavors come in and do their part to balance and distract. Dark fruits, chocolate, and coffee seem to lend themselves assertively at points with the chocolate bitterness going into the end. There seems to be a touch of tart cherries near the finish too. Interesting.

    Body is big and thick with minimal to no carbonation that will become less with age. Creamy and filling.

    A really big beer that is solid but almost too sweet. I think the sweetness takes this years (2010) down a notch. I imagine it will only get more so going forward? But, I would drink this anytime as I relish the big stouts. Maybe not the best RIS but darn tasty nonetheless. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Monday, January 10, 2011 at 12:42:46
  • Tasted: December 31, 2010 by scot
  • $15.00 for 22 oz. bottle
355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.8/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Black
  • A: Clean, deep, black. slight dark tan foam that quickly disappears.

    S: Appealing dark roasty malts, brown sugar, low level dark fruits. Is there some faint citrusy hops way in the back?

    T: A bunch of dark sweetness come together in the proper mix. The balance to th e sweet is there, but is it the alcohol or earthy hops? I don't understand how this brew balances, but it does. It syrupy but like a great port. Would like to try and save my last five bottles and put some age on them, I think this brew will only get better.

    D: This brew is legendary so it's hard to be objective, and to boot these are local brewer heros to me. But. you've got to give this brew it's credit, it's over the top but it works, and all other Russians must be judged against this. 10,000 folks at Dark Lord Days can't be wrong.
  • Reviewed: Friday, December 31, 2010 at 22:52:00
  • Tasted: December 31, 2010 by rich
  • $14.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • A demonic Russian Style Imperial Stout, brewed with Intelligensia coffee Mexican vanilla, and Indian sugar this beer defies description, available one day a year in April at the brewery, Dark Lord Day.

    2010 - Olive Wax
Cost Breakdown
  • $15.00, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping