Log in Join now
Guava Grove - Cigar City Brewing

Guava Grove

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.7/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 8.7/10

Trend: 8.7/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Saison

ABV: 8.00%

Season: June - July

Have Another: 100%

358 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.7/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Pale Amber
  • A: Murky peach. Normal off-white foam head.

    S: Appealing sourness, tart fruitness, and a little funk/musk.

    T: Fresh fruitiness (tropical & guava) is upfront. Next is tartness and carbonation. Semi-medium mouthfeel. It tartness is perfect. The odd thing is I think I'm getting some banana/clove. Oh, and some pineapple, too.

    D: First Cigar City that I really liked. It has this complex, multi tropical fruit taste notes that a brew from a hot climate location should have. It's balanced for all that's going on. Finally I at least understand the legion of CC fans, and it's their beer that I look for in the future.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 13, 2011 at 23:11:34
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.2 average
  • 8.7/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: 6
  • Appearance: It was mostly clear deep gold until Scott choose not to decant.

    Head, white to slight taupe, heavy cling to side of glass.

    Aroma: Smells like Saison!

    Taste: Slightly sharp. Clovish at the end. Fruityish.

    Lack the vocabularity to articulate the attributes of a Saison, but I like this beer! Love it.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 13, 2011 at 23:10:32
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
1,150 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.8/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Gold
  • Pours slightly cloudy and floaties with a huge, glass filling, white, meringue foam. Retention is quite good with minimal, possibly spotty, lacing.

    Aroma is a bit of Belgian funk - tart cherries and possibly citrus. Some sweetness and pineapple on the backend. The pineapple almost seemed like it was in there in terms of being so straight forward. Seems to almost be sour. I am excited.

    Taste is sweet up front with a bit of sweet/sour funk that does the beer justice. Fruits of cherry and pineapple are tart and pleasant.

    Very up front and crisp carbonation. Light end of medium body which is a touch dry.

    I like this beer. A saison that has some nice funk. I would definitely have this again and again. A little sourness never hurt anyone. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 13, 2011 at 23:00:00
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • $8.99 for 750 ml bottle