Log in Join now
Thunder And Son - Half Acre Beer Company

Thunder And Son

Overall: 8.3/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 8.6/10

Trend: 8.3/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Strong Ale

ABV: 12.00%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

113 beers rated with a 8.2 average
  • 8.0/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: 28
  • Dark Brown, barely translucent, ruby brown barely shines through.
    Thin head, decent cling to glass. Tight light carbonation bubbles.
    Aroma, up front alchohol. Dark fruits, other complimentary fruits, but NOT citrusy fruits. Plum? Hard to identify which fruits, but definetly complicated and throughout.
    Flavor. Some kind of dark sugar is hiding the alchohol well. Mollassas or brown sugar? Fruits again are complicated and through middle of taste. Alchohol is in finish giving it a slight lingering bite.
    Light carbonation. Forwardly light, but alchohol pulls the finish towards a medium body.

    The bottle says brown ale, but I'm told it's a Old Ale. I have to say I was confused by brown ale description. It's very complicated, very fruity, worth sipping slowly. As an Old Ale, yes. As a brown ale, 'not to style'?

    The fruity complexity allows this beer to cellar well and the alchohol supports this idea. This beer is a great contender for ageing and would improve it's stats a lot. I would buy this beer to age it and I think a person that bought and opened a young version would be 'disappointed' compared to an aged version.

    It's sort of a great beer to bring up in a discussion of 'to cellar or not to cellar'? I think off the rack, it's a one time beer and 'sort of good' but only as a one time thing. As an aged beer, I think this be could be 'a contender'. People would line up for an aged version.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 27, 2011 at 22:03:44
  • Tasted: January 27, 2011 by Retrofit
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.6/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • Pours clear with minimal off white foam. Retention and lacing are barely noticeable.

    Aroma is dark fruits followed by some booze on the first few passes. Subsequent scents are toasted, toffee, and molasses. Lighter fruits too, just not citrus.

    Taste is no where near as boozy as I expected based on the aroma. Toffee, toasted, and molasses all help add to the complexity and push the alcohol to the back. Fruits are up and down the beer and the spectrum.

    Starts thin becoming thick and full bodied with minimal carbonation.

    The fruits are all the place and it is a great quality of this beer. Definitely a sipper to partake by the fire. Another one of these in the cellar would be nice as I would like to taste one with some age. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 27, 2011 at 22:00:42
  • Tasted: January 27, 2011 by scot
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle