Log in Join now
Pipeline Porter - Kona Brewing Company

Pipeline Porter

Overall: 8.4/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 8.3/10

Trend: 8.4/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Porter

ABV: 5.40%

Season: September to March

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 8.5/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Black
  • Pours black with a hint of ruby red around the edges of the glass. The pour produces a half inch fluffy tan head with great retention as the head gets thicker as it begins to settle. Lots of sticky web like lacing.

    The aroma is fairly light, but I detect hints of coffee and roasted malts.

    The taste is much bigger and bolder than the aroma. Sweet toffee upfront works into roasted malts with a touch of chocolate and coffee flavors that appear near the finish and linger in the aftertaste.

    Medium body with medium carbonation and a sticky sweetness on the lips.

    Overall, a very nice porter from Kona Brewing. Very easy drinking and nicely balanced. Now I just need to find a way to get to Hawaii to try this one on Tap at the brewery! Try One!
  • Reviewed: Monday, January 28, 2013 at 00:20:28
  • Tasted: January 27, 2013 by tikibeer
  • $1.49 for 12 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.3/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • A vigorous pour brings out a quarter glass of frothy, deep tan, tightly packed foam on top of an opaque liquid that, at times, seemed to be fairly clear. Retention is outstanding as the foam becomes thicker, clinging to the sides of the glass like sticky webs.

    Aroma is coffee and roasted malt. Neither is really over powering but the strongest of the scents in a beer not zealously aromatic. Bread and bitter chocolate seem to seep in also.

    Taste is toffee sweet, shortly to start, giving way to chocolate then roasted malt. Bitter and roasted coffee, almost burnt, linger into the finish. Subtly complex.

    Medium body trending towards the lighter end with mild carbonation. Dries the palate.

    A really nice porter that only falls short in the aroma department. The lower ABV and subtle flavors/scents of chocolate and coffee add nice complexity to a very drinkable beer. I waited a long time for my first Hawaiian beer and I wasn't disappointed. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Saturday, February 12, 2011 at 21:03:22
  • Tasted: February 12, 2011 by scot
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle