Log in Join now
Gumball Head - Three Floyds Brewing Company

Gumball Head

Overall: 8.5/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 8.6/10

Trend: 8.5/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Wheat Ale

ABV: 4.80%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.6/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 8 | L: 8 | M: 10 | O: 10
  • Color: Pale Gold
  • A: Pale gold, thought it had haze but the brew cleared up and it warmed up. Soft white delicate foam of average retention. Would be kind of normal looking, but it looks to have a little viscosity to it.

    S: Fresh citrus with some grainy notes. I get more more orange than grapefruit much lower volume. There's a bunch more notes, mostly pine, light grass, and wheat or rye.

    T: First impression is fruit juicy. It's fresh with wheat and/or breadiness, and with virtually no bitterness. Well carbonated but fits the brew.

    O: Great beer, it's a mild beer for Three Floyds but would be bold for many other brewers. Favorable, and yet highly drinkable. I did the mix of citrus and malts, maybe it reminds me of a great fruit pastry. Much more restrained than the wildly popular Zombie Dust, but not much easier to get cause it's so likeable. It's another brew example of why FFF's is much loved by beer geeks.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, May 30, 2013 at 21:30:46
  • Tasted: May 30, 2013 by rich
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 8.3/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 8 | L: 8 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Pale Gold
  • I decided to revisit an old favorite that I have not had in a while.
    I knew that I would not be disappointed.

    Pours a Pale Golden color with a nice three inch head. Medium retention, with nice lacing.

    Aroma is heavenly. Citrus hops and Pine hops. Has a clean refreshing scent.

    Lots of citrus on the front of this beer which works its way into a nice pine hop at the back end. A very refreshing smooth beer with a well balanced taste. Reminds me of some IPA's that I have had.

    Medium carbonation. This is beer goes down easy and every sip is enjoyable. I am glad I revisited this one....still a favorite in my book!
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, April 19, 2011 at 00:17:46
  • Tasted: April 18, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.6/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 8 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Pale Gold, Hazy
  • Poured with three fingers of fluffy, white foam that had medium retention and a nice web of lacing throughout.

    The aroma would never lend itself to a wheat ale: it is full of citrus hops and some wheat. More of an IPA scent than a wheat beer.

    The flavor isn't as big as the aroma but is definitely more complex than a normal wheat beer. Grapefruit and orange are apparent in the beginning and middle, but finishes like an IPA with piney notes.

    Very refreshing and light tasting. Summer was made for a beer like this or was the beer made for summer? Either way if you have questions about wheat beer but enjoy hops, then give this one a shot. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 16, 2009 at 20:15:53
  • Tasted: July 16, 2009 by scot
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle