Log in Join now
Rhinoceros - Telegraph Brewing Company

Rhinoceros

Overall: 7.7/10 by 4 dudes

Dudes: 7.6/10

Trend: 7.7/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Barleywine

ABV: 10.00%

Season: Rotating

Have Another: 75%

Add a Beer Review

354 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 7.1/10 have another
  • A: 7 | T: 7 | L: 9 | M: 7 | O: 7
  • Color: Medium Amber
  • A: Amber that deeps orange with a haze. Thick off white of medium retention.

    S: Full tree fruit sweet and sour. Background malty breadiness and a touch of toffee.

    T: Bitterness and sourness upfront then the sweetness follows. Big carbonation and our bottle is a year old. Maybe some spices coming through. Alcohol is warming.

    D: It's not bad and the complexity of a barleywine is present. The sweetness is held in check so it's a drinkable and I would try it again. The sourness, if that's what it is, kind of throws my experience with this beer off.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 17, 2011 at 22:05:55
  • Tasted: February 17, 2011 by rich
  • $11.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,125 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.1/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 8 | L: 9 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Amber
  • Pours clear with tons of off-white, frothy foam. Retention is way above average with a thick, sheeting lacing that doesn't stick.

    Aroma is apples, slight sour, floral, and some malts. Bread and caramel. (?)

    Taste is interesting and a bit different than usual barley wines. Sour really takes off, apple, and bread/caramel malts. There is a solid bitterness to the finish.

    Medium body with a real prickly carbonation that takes a bit away from the beer itself.

    I like this beer but the sour/tart profile really bothered me. Good fruits, floral, and sweetness. Cherries is another way to think of the sour profile, which I can buy in the aroma but not the taste. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 17, 2011 at 22:01:41
  • Tasted: February 17, 2011 by scot
  • $11.99 for 750 ml bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.2 average
  • 7.1/10 have another
  • A: 7 | T: 7 | L: 8 | M: 7 | O: 7
  • Color: 11
  • Aroma: Some malt. Some floral elements. Hard to I.D. elements. An alcoholic yeasty note in background.

    Look: Half inch of head rests to clean 1/8" of heavy cream that clings to glass.

    Taste: Sour up front over alcohol. Starting a conversation on is a barelywine sour or sweet? The basic elements are there, complicated. Hard to nail. Is it cherry or is it sour? Is it complicated and to style or out of balance? Is it alcohol burn or spicy?
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 17, 2011 at 22:00:21
  • Tasted: February 17, 2011 by Retrofit
  • $11.99 for 12 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 8.6/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 7 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Short Rating Aroma: 9 (24%) | Taste: 9 (40%) | Look: 7 (6%) | Drinkability: (PERCENT_DRINKABILITY%) | Overall: 8.6
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 17, 2011 at 21:52:41
  • Tasted: February 18, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle