Log in Join now
Stone Imperial Russian Stout - Stone Brewing Company

Stone Imperial Russian Stout

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.6/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 8.5/10

Trend: 8.6/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Russian Imperial Stout

ABV: 10.50%

IBU: 90

Season: April

Have Another: 100%

1,150 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.5/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Black
  • 2010 bottle poured into my snifter.

    Pours opaque like old motor oil. Foam is about a quarter inch and mocha in color. Retention isn't all that great. Lacing is ring like at the liquid level.

    Aroma is chocolate up front but strangely it is light. Somber roasted notes hide behind. Surprisingly light with no apparent bitterness or coffee like scents.

    Taste is a bit of surprise after the sweet, molasses almost cloying beginning. Roasted and smoke rush in (not peat) which slightly lingers with a bit of ash in the deep finish.

    A huge beer in the mouth with a bit more carbonation than expected, especially on a one year old RIS.

    A really interesting take on a RIS as this is the first that any amount of smoke, which I liked when I normally don't. It also was a surprise as I couldn't find it in the aroma. Quite a solid beer. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 03, 2011 at 22:21:14
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 03, 2011
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.2 average
  • 8.8/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: 39
  • The coveted "40" like lightspeed, is unobtainable. However all I see is black, not even a hint of color at the thinnest edge. Color alone, this beer has my attention.
    Thin taupe head clings to edges of glass. Tiniest intense carbonation in head. Another good sign.
    Aroma: Non bittered chocolate or black malt? Smooth malt with slight roast to aroma. No apparent coffee aroma. Dark malts NOT burnt, pleasantly roasted. Inviting.

    Taste: Surprisingly carbonated to break the flavors and bring them out. Again, very dark, very malty, no true bitterness, no coffee overtones. Which makes it so accessible.

    Enough sweetness to bring you back. So many big flavors, but nothing over powering. So balanced in a good way.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 03, 2011 at 22:20:52
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 03, 2011
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle