Log in Join now
Furious - Surly Brewing Company

Furious

Overall: 9.5/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 9.4/10

Trend: 9.5/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American IPA

ABV: 6.20%

IBU: 99

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

354 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Medium Amber
  • A: Deep orangey, amber with a slight hazy. Off-white, very small bubbles of short retention foam.

    S: Multiple inputs all at once. Notes of: pine, grapefruit, some orange, a little spice. Big time complexity.

    T: Great mix of citrus, then semi-sweet malt, and nice bitterness. Not too thick of a mouthfeel and good carbonation.

    O: This brew is as good as everyone says. You got to like hoppy brews, and if you do, this aggressive IPA has few peers. Giant grapefruit burst and hot spicey bite of bitterness.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 21, 2012 at 23:16:59
  • Tasted: June 21, 2012 by rich
  • $2.99 for 16 oz. can
6 beers rated with a 8.8 average
  • 9.8/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 10 | L: 10 | M: 10 | O: 10
  • Reviewed: Sunday, February 14, 2010 at 23:58:30
  • Tasted: February 14, 2010 by pochman
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
1,133 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.7/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 10 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Deep Amber
  • My friend, Ed, has told me a lot about this beer and how popular and good it is. On a recent trip to Ed's he said that he had one to share and that I should like it. 99 IBUs is a lot so I expected to be overwhelmed by the hops.

    The beer poured with a full hand high of fluffy white foam with a fair amount of retention and great lacing. Really a pretty looking beer in an English pint glass.

    The aroma is a freight train of pine. There is a faint hint of sweet malt in there also. As the beer warmed the pine notes on the noise changed to a grapefruit.

    Depending on if you prefer a pint or grapefruit IPA might lend you to allow this beer to warm (grapefruit) or drink straight out the fridge or shorter warming period (pine).

    The flavor is full of the pine notes from the hops, as expected. The beer finishes with some hop bitterness but quickly, even for the level of hops, disappears and leaves you with a clean taste in your mouth. I have never had an IPA that so quickly shuts down the bitterness in the end. This leads you to another sip, then a gulp, then a chug because you can't believe what you are tasting.

    Similar to the aroma, the taste of this beer also undergoes a metamorphosis as it warms from pine to grapefruit.

    To date, this is the best IPA I have ever had. For even the casual hop fan, this is a must because when you have an IPA that tastes this damn good, you will understand what a truly great beer within a style can taste like. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Saturday, July 18, 2009 at 11:10:23
  • Tasted: July 17, 2009 by scot
  • $2.50 for 16 oz. bottle