Log in Join now
Secession Cascadian Dark Ale - Hopworks Urban Brewery

Secession Cascadian Dark Ale

Overall: 7.8/10 by 4 dudes

Dudes: 7.9/10

Trend: 7.8/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Cascadian Dark Ale

ABV: 6.50%

IBU: 70

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 75%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.8/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 10 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Brown
  • A: Deep clear mahgony brown. The small tan head quickly disapated.

    S: Subtle citrus hop aroma surrounded by small chocolately malt. Welcome light is on.

    T: Awesome mix of hop bitternes and a slight smoky malt. Fresh and dry, then a fading grassy or woodiness in the final hop notes.

    D: This style is not without it's controversy. Let me declare up front that I am a fan of the style. This beer shows the diversity in a young branch of a new american style. I like the sophisticated blend of piney hop resin and smoky woodiness in the dry clarity of a sweetness void. It's an adult beverage. And I've been wanting to sample anything from theis brewery.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 21:48:01
  • Tasted: March 24, 2011 by rich
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.2 average
  • 7.5/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 7 | L: 7 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: 14
  • Translucent brown with white head-slight cling. Slight hoppish aroma with coffee character.

    Chocolate malt slight watery-ness to it. Hop in end meant to counter upfront dark malts, but too light in application. It leaves the dark malts with a heavy coffee bitter finish. Dry.

    I think the dark malts, are heavy on the bitter. Flavorful, but I couldn't have many- the bitter would get harsh I think. Still enjoyed it, but less than perfect.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 21:39:39
  • Tasted: March 24, 2011 by Retrofit
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,139 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 7.1/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 7 | L: 9 | M: 6 | O: 6
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • Pours clear but slightly opaque. Foam is tan and minimal. Retention was grease lightly. Lacing is sporadic and sticky.

    Aroma is subtle citrus aroma behind some nice roasted, nut, and mild chocolate.

    Taste is sweet at first which quickly changes to a earth, roasted, and smoke middle to end. There is some bitterness from citrus, wood hops that lingers.

    In spite of the deep color, it is light in the mouth with a less carbonation than expected.

    Just getting into this style and the two beers that fit the category to this point, are really different from each other. This one comes up short compared to the other. In search of consistency in this style. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 21:38:47
  • Tasted: March 24, 2011 by scot
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 7.7/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 8 | L: 8 | M: 7 | O: 7
  • Color: Brown
  • Pours a dark ruby brown with a thin white head. Light lacing

    Aroma is a nice rich citrus hops and a roasted malt.

    Taste is a grassy hop with hints of citrus. Malty, Smokey and dry with a warming bitterness.

    Very different beer for me. Never had a Cascadian Dark before. I like it but again it takes a little getting used to for me. I would have another.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 24, 2011 at 21:37:31
  • Tasted: March 24, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle