Log in Join now
Russian Imperial Stout - Berkshire Brewing Company

Russian Imperial Stout

Overall: 7.6/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 7.4/10

Trend: 7.6/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Russian Imperial Stout

ABV: 8.50%

IBU: 30

Season: Winter

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 7.4/10 have another
  • A: 7 | T: 7 | L: 8 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Brown
  • A: Clear and deep mahagony brown, solid medium tan foam of average retenion with minimal lacing.

    S:Initialy pick up sherry and roasty malt and followed by alcohol fire.

    T: Whoa, totally unexpected, it's not Imperial Stout and man is there carbonation. Did I miss read the label? Flavors are a pleasant blend roasty malt, dark chocolate, and maybe a touch of coffee. Sweeetness at a perfect level. On the low medium side for mouthfeel. At the end I'm kind of left with a slight bitter taste.

    O: This is a very drinkable stout, but could only be considered Imperial because of the abv. I am totally thrown off by the high scores on reviews. Yes, there's a very good blend or rich dark flavors. But I can't say this beer in the upper echelon of brews in this country. Not just because it's way off the style, but it's just not perfect. I think there's a touch of favoritism on the part of the locals, when it came time to rate this one. Don't get me wrong, I'd drink this again if offered, but I just see it as a top tier brew.


    Bottle stamped: Best by 4/26/11
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 07, 2011 at 21:50:34
  • Tasted: April 07, 2011 by rich
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.2 average
  • 8.0/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 8 | L: 8 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: 26
  • Semi Deep Brown with Ruby edges. Clean even head with clinging head. Looks good.
    Aroma: Some roasted notes. Not a lot of aroma.

    Taste: Not to style. Stout yes. Russian Imperial? No. Over carbonated. While all the elements of a stout are there, I don't think it's big enough to be a Russian Imperial.

    All the dark notes, come chocolate, some roast, a slight coffee. It actually tastes pretty good. I just don't think it's to style.

    I would drink it again, and call it a stout.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 07, 2011 at 21:32:52
  • Tasted: April 07, 2011 by Retrofit
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 7.5/10 have another
  • A: 6 | T: 7 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Black
  • Pours opaque with a quality, inch, tan foam. Retention is well above average while the lacing is sheeting and sticky.

    Aroma is light but mostly roasted malt, even a sense of oats.

    Taste is subdued also. Very light for a RIS. Roasted malts come in late and leave chocolate bitterness. Maybe a touch of coffee.

    Medium body at best with medium or better carbonation.

    Not what I expect from RIS in terms of the "size" of the beer. it is really light body with way too much carbonation for a stout in general let alone a RIS. If this was just a stout, then it is good but not as a RIS. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 07, 2011 at 21:29:22
  • Tasted: April 07, 2011 by scot
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle