Log in Join now
Damnation - Russian River Brewing Company

Damnation

Overall: 9.1/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 9.1/10

Trend: 9.1/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Belgian Pale Ale

ABV: 7.75%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.1/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 10 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Pale Gold
  • A: Delicate and fluffy in a pure white. Bright gold with slight haze.
    S: Citrus, spice, and bread.
    T: Spice surrounded with sweetness, and citrus in the background. Dryness comes quick, and the finish is like fine lemon pastry.
    O: Sopisticated, refined, and smooth. A euro spice flavor mixed with perfect balance of hop bitter and malt. RR deserves all the prop's they receive from their fans, me included.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 23, 2016 at 21:18:43
  • Tasted: June 23, 2016 by rich
  • $10.99 for 375 ml bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.2/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 10 | L: 10 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Straw
  • Pours clear but with a bunch of tiny floaties. Foam is quite big and would be at home on top of a lemon meringue pie. Retention is outstanding while lacing is minimal and cause by the recession of the foam in the original pour.

    Aroma is slight but robust. Yeast and a slight tart mustiness prevails at first. As the beer decants more fruity and spice notes come to the top. None of the scents beat on the others. Lemon.

    Taste has a very subtle sweet and then a bread malt to it. Yeast, mustiness, tart, fruity (think citrus), and spice all bide their time on your taste buds. Finishes rather cleanly.

    Light body with, at first, some big bubbles on the teeth that subside as the foam does. Dry.

    This is a really pleasant, subtle, and complex beer. It took me a few sips before I warmed up to the beer and truly understood what I was getting into. Now the question becomes if I can get this beer again. Might be time for a reach out to my cousin Russ. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, April 20, 2011 at 08:56:52
  • Tasted: April 20, 2011 by scot
  • $22.00 for 750 ml bottle