Log in Join now
Velvet Merlin - Firestone Walker Brewing Co.

Velvet Merlin

Overall: 9.0/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 9.0/10

Trend: 9.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Oatmeal Stout

ABV: 5.50%

IBU: 30

Season: Fall/Winter

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.7/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 9 | L: 8 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • A - Deep, rich brown with a 1/4 inch foam head that remains ringed around the top edge of the beer in my snifter. The foam's color was light brown and the texture was small, soft bubbles.

    S - Medium bodied So American coffee and layers of malt that eventually reach roasted. Under layer of hop aroma, pine or spice to my nose.

    T - Smoothest oatmeal stout that I've had, key word is oats. Having velvet in the name is not hyperbole. Then I am hit with semi-sweet toffee and bakers chocolate. The mouth-feel and flavors of this brew compliment each other very well. As I've indicated many times, I want my beer carbonated, and this beer has my proper level that's a tad pronounced. Finally the roastiness comes lightly tripping in. I really like fact this brew isn't close to sweet, and almost finishes dry. At 5.5% abv no issues with alcohol level balancing.

    O - This is one of the first styles that I became aware of in the early days of the resurgence of American craft brewing. Probably the thing I most like about this beer would be the pairability it would have with certain foods. I like many folks, like a wider definition of a style, and the FW execution of Oatmeal Stout does slightly bend a couple of borders. But I mean that in the most positive way. I hugely respect the brewing results from Firestone Walker, and this is just another small proof point.
  • Reviewed: Saturday, January 19, 2013 at 22:38:18
  • Tasted: January 19, 2013 by rich
  • $2.29 for 12 oz. bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.3/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 9 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Deep Brown
  • Pours opaque but clear on the edges. Foam is huge, mocha, and small bubbles. Retention is average with little to no lacing.

    Aroma has roasted and chocolate up front with my nose over two feet away. That makes for good news to the ole sniffer. Coffee comes through when I put my nose to the glass quite quickly. Deep back are some earthy notes, possibly from the barrel and/or the Fuggle hops.

    Taste of dark chocolate, roasted malts, and coffee. Light up front, maybe even sweet with a rich creaminess that comes through in the end. The finish brings on some bitter chocolate and light coffee notes.

    Medium body, maybe less, with about the same amount of carbonation. Dries the palate.

    The aroma and taste are out of the this world big where they should be for a stout. This is a very drinkable and easy to handle stout. My one complaint might be mouth feel as I thought it was on the light side but that might not be a bad thing with all the "huge" stouts out there. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 28, 2011 at 21:22:13
  • Tasted: April 28, 2011 by scot
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • A decadent Oatmeal Stout brimming with cocoa and espresso aromas. Partially aged in bourbon barrels, this beer features a rich, dark chocolate and roasted coffee flavor with a creamy mouth feel and wonderfully dry finish. The addition of U.S. grown fuggles hops contributes the perfect amount of bitterness to this exceptionally balanced beer.
Cost Breakdown
  • $2.29, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Malts
Hops