Log in Join now
Prototype Stout - Weston Brewing Company

Prototype Stout

Overall: 7.3/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 7.3/10

Trend: 7.3/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Oatmeal Stout

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 7.1/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • Color: Black
  • A: Totally black, fut medium brown mixed with swirls of much lighter shades of white's and tan's. Thick milkshake appearing head.

    S: Roast and milk chocolate

    T: First impression is that it's a much thinner brew than the look and smell led me to believe. It's kind of dry, and almost to tart, which is surprising for an Oatmeal version of the Stout family. No info on the alcohol level, but my guess would be at 5.0 abv or less.

    O: I assume this is a small new brewery, which is located some where in Missouri. This brew was good, but somewhat a mystery...in both how little is published, and what I iltimately feel about the taste of the brew. It's totally drinkable, and does peak my interest, just think it needs a few more pieces. I want to try this brewers other offerings.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 21:18:32
  • Tasted: May 26, 2011 by rich
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 7.5/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • Color: Black
  • Pours opaque with a huge, tan, frothy, thick foam on top of the liquid. Retention is above average becoming more frothy. Lacing leaves trails of foam here and there.

    Aroma is chocolate and roasted malt up front. Some oats are there but not much else. Chocolate seems to get stronger the longer it sits even though it was only in the fridge for 10 minutes.

    Taste is roasted from the beginning to the end. Finishes transitions to bitter chocolate and light coffee. not creamy as I would have expected.

    A medium body with medium carbonation that dries the palate.

    I had a foreign extra stout the other evening and this seems closer to that than an oatmeal stout. Still an above average offering that makes me curious as to what else is offered. Don't know if I could drink a lot (had trouble with a half bomber) as the roastiness is too much. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 21:13:05
  • Tasted: May 26, 2011 by scot
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle