Log in Join now
White - Allagash Brewing Company

White

Overall: 9.2/10 by 4 dudes

Dudes: 9.4/10

Trend: 9.2/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Witbeir

ABV: 5.00%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review or Add a Short Beer Review

  • 9.1/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 9 | L: 9 | D: 10 | O: 9.1
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 16, 2012 at 21:44:53
  • Tasted: August 16, 2012 by rich
  • $2.25 for 12 oz. bottle
  • Color: Straw
  • A: Yellow but in a golden, misty, lemon colored version. Very soft, small, white bubbles which mostly dissipates quickly, except for a ring around my snifter.

    S: Pleasant and distinct Belgian yeast spice notes, with an Italian lemony aroma. The straw notes from wheat is attractive.

    T: First thoughts are how well crafted this beer is. Fresh flavors of lemons, off-set by wheat dryness, then a subtle spic. Almost zero bitterness. Medium high carbonation, but really compliments the beer. I tend not to like spice beers, it's apparent after drinking this brew, it's over spiced beers that I don't like. Here the spiciness (coriander and others?...argued on allspice) blends and enhances the experience.

    O: Highly drinkable, very refreshing, super balanced, and great flavors. This brew shows up on many lists of best American Craft Summer brews. I totally agree. This is one of those great brewies that I take for granted because it's well represented at good craft beer shops. I won't keep making that mistake.
  • 9.7/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 10 | L: 9 | D: 10 | O: 9.7
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 16, 2012 at 21:38:38
  • Tasted: August 16, 2012 by scot
  • $2.25 for 12 oz. bottle
  • Color: Straw
  • Pours cloudy, especially with the bottom of the bottle. Foam is pure white, wispy, and not long lasting. Lacing splotches the sides occasionally.

    Aroma is wheat, muted lemon, and spice. A nice blend of scents for the style.

    Taste brings on many different flavors that are delicately balanced. Wheat, yeast, lemon, and an assortment of spice parlay each sip into larger rewards.

    Light body with spritzy carbonation that is good for the beer style. Dries the palate.

    This is a damn good beer. Best described as refreshing. Great balance and huge complexity for such a dainty beer. I need to step up how often I pull this off the shelf. Enjoy!
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | D: 9 | O: 9.0
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 16, 2012 at 21:38:00
  • Tasted: August 16, 2012 by Retrofit
  • $2.25 for 12 oz. bottle
  • Color: 2
  • Rocks

    So light, so crisp, so aromatic, so... easy to drink.

    Med/Hi carb.
    Lemon
    Hint of spice.
    Nothing over pronounced, everything so subtly flavorful.
    Love it.
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 9 | L: 9 | D: 9 | O: 9.0
  • Reviewed: Saturday, June 18, 2011 at 01:00:36
  • Tasted: June 17, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $2.59 for 12 oz. bottle
  • Color: Straw
  • Pours a cloudy straw color with a nice one inch pure white head. Good retention spotty lacing.

    Aroma is fantastic. Yeast, Wheat, and a spicy citrus.

    Taste is excellent as well. A nice lemon and wheat flavor upfront with a mild sourness that works into a spicy clove and finishes with a sweetness on the palate. Finishes with a tart dryness on the palate. Very enjoyable and well balanced.

    Light body with medium carbonation. Creamy and smooth in the mouth.

    Everything about this beer is right on the money. Very enjoyable, refreshing and easy drinking. Nice level of complexity. Add it to my list of favorites!