Log in Join now
Maduro Oatmeal Brown Ale - Cigar City Brewing

Maduro Oatmeal Brown Ale

Overall: 6.8/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 6.4/10

Trend: 6.8/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Brown Ale

ABV: 5.50%

IBU: 25

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 7.1/10 have another
  • A: 7 | T: 7 | L: 9 | M: 7 | O: 7
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, December 10, 2013 at 01:10:01
  • Tasted: December 09, 2013 by tikibeer
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 6.4/10 have another
  • A: 7 | T: 6 | L: 9 | M: 6 | O: 6
  • Color: Ruby Brown
  • A vigorous pour brings on a clear beer with half a pint glass of light tan foam. Retention lasts with a thickening of the foam. Lacing doesn't really show here.

    The first thing I get in the aroma is lactic acid. Not expected. Lots of malt otherwise: toast, roast, and bread. A touch of brown sugar and a spice or two (cinnamon). Sort of expecting a sour beer here.

    Taste is a bit sour up front but I don't think that is what should be expected. There are other flavors there but they are masked. Roast, toast, and big malts come in after the acid sort of dissipates.

    Light on the mouth with medium carbonation at best. Dries the palate a touch.

    Since I am going down to Tampa, FL here shortly I am going to give this beer another go, quite possibly on tap. From everything I read this should be a really good beer but the sour takes it away. Damnit. Going to rate average for now and reconvene after another taste test. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Monday, June 27, 2011 at 21:28:14
  • Tasted: June 27, 2011 by scot
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • Maduro(TM) is a Northern English-style brown ale with some American affectations. Maduro is higher in alcohol than the common English brown ale and features flaked oats in the malt bill which imparts a silky body and works to mesh the roasted, toasted and chocolate components together in Maduro's complex malt profile. The end result is a remarkably full-flavored yet approachable and sessionable brown ale that pairs well with mild to medium cigars.
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.67, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping